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APPLICATION FOR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES REGISTRATION — PHYSICIAN'S ASSISTANTS
INSTRUCTION SHEET

General Information

e You must hold a Delaware Physician Assistant (PA) license with prescriptive authority before your
application for controlled substance registration (CSR) will be processed.

o If you do not already hold a PA license, use the Application to Practice as a Physician Assistant to apply.

o If you already hold a Delaware PA license but you do not yet have prescriptive authority, use the Physician
Assistant Application for Prescriptive Authority.

o If you don't already have prescriptive authority when you file this CSR application, you should receive your CSR 3-4
weeks after your prescriptive authority is approved. Please allow the 3-4 weeks to elapse before calling the office.

e Your Delaware CSR certificate and all CSR-related correspondence must be mailed to the same address as your PA
license.

e You need only one Delaware CSR to prescribe controlled substances in Delaware even if you prescribe controlled
substances at more than one Delaware business/practice or more than one location of a business/practice. However,
every Delaware location where controlled substances are dispensed/stored must be covered by a CSR. If no other
practitioner (e.g., physician), physician assistant or APN holds a Delaware CSR for a location where you will
store/dispense, as well as prescribe, controlled substances, you must file for an additional CSR for the location in
Question 13 of the application.

¢ You must file a Physician Assistant Application for Prescriptive Authority form to report any new/additional supervising
physicians. See Reporting Supervisory Changes below.

e When your Delaware CSR is approved, you must then file for a federal DEA registration for Delaware. You must
have both a Delaware CSR and DEA registration for Delaware before you prescribe controlled substances in
Delaware. A DEA registration in another jurisdiction is not sufficient for prescribing controlled substances in
Delaware.

e You may dispense no more than a 72-hour supply of controlled substances. If you dispense the maximum 72-hour
supply, you must report to the Delaware Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP).

Requirements for All Applicants

[] Submit completed, signed and notarized Application for Controlled Substances Registration — Physician’s Assistants.

[] Enclose the non-refundable processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware.”
e The total fee depends on how many controlled substance registrations you are applying for. Multiply the fee on
the Fee Schedule by the number of registrations applied for in Question 2 of the application (not the controlled
substance schedule in Question 6).

[] Arrange for your main supervising Physician and for all alternate supervising Physicians to complete and sign the
boxes in the SUPERVISION section.
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[] If you have never been issued a U.S. Social Security Number (SSN), submit a Request for Exemption from Social
Security Number Requirement.
The Privacy Act of 1974, Section 7, requires the following information to be given to all applicants: Applicants for any Delaware
professional or occupational license, permit, registration or certificate (other than Gaming permits) are required to provide a U.S.
SSN (29 Del. C. 88735(m)). The Division of Professional Regulation uses the SSN primarily to verify identity and safeguard
personal information. It may also be used to enforce child support obligation (13 Del. C. §2216) and for other lawful purposes.

[] Complete the one-hour Mandatory Course training on Delaware law, regulation and programs on prescribing and
distribution of controlled substances.

Reporting Supervisory Changes

e If you have only one supervising physician and the supervisory relationship terminates, your CSR becomes null and
void. You must notify the Office of Controlled Substances and return your certificate.

o If your supervising physician(s) changes — including new/additional supervisors or departing supervisors — you must
file a Physician Assistant Application for Prescriptive Authority form to report the change. For example, if you already
hold a Delaware CSR and you take a second job at another Delaware practice where you will prescribe (but not
store/dispense) controlled substances, you must report your supervising physician at the new job even though you do
not need another Delaware CSR in this situation.
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APPLICATION FOR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES REGISTRATION — PHYSICIAN'S ASSISTANTS

TYPE OF APPLICATION

1.

6.

Show the type of Controlled Substance registration (CSR) application you are filing (check all that apply):
[] 1 am applying for a new (initial) CSR. | have never held a Delaware CSR.

[] 1 am reapplying for registration because my former Delaware CSR is lapsed. My previous Delaware CSR number
was:

[] 1 am applying for a CSR(s) for another location where controlled substances are stored/dispensed and no other
practitioner (e.g., physician), physician assistant, or APN already holds a Delaware CSR for the location.

How many CSRs are you applying for? Enclose a Controlled Substance registration fee for each CSR.

Do you already hold a Delaware Physician Assistant license? Yes [ ] No [] If yes, enter your license number:
C5-

Do you have a Delaware Prescriptive Authority Number (from Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline)?
Yes [] No[] If yes, enter license number: RXPA

If you do not already hold a Delaware Physician Assistant license with prescriptive authority, allow 3-4 weeks
after your prescriptive authority is approved to receive your CSR.

Do you already have a federal DEA number? Yes [ ] No [] If yes, enter DEA number:

When your Delaware CSR is approved, you must then file for a federal DEA reqistration for Delaware. You
must have both a Delaware CSR and DEA registration for Delaware before you prescribe controlled
substances in Delaware.

Check the schedule(s) you are applying for: [] 11 1 v v

IDENTIFYING INFORMATION

7.

8.

9.

10.

Name:

Other Names Used:

Date of Birth (month/day/year): Gender: Male [] Female []

Have you been issued a U.S. Social Security Number? Yes [] No [] If yes, enter your SSN:
If no, you must file a Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement.

PRACTICE INFORMATION

11.

12.

Do you intend to prescribe controlled substances? Yes [ | No []

Do you intend to dispense You may dispense no more than a 72-hour supply of controlled substances.

controlled substances? If you dispense the maximum 72-hour supply, you must report to the

Yes [] No[] Delaware Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP). For instructions on
registering for the PMP, see the Dispenser’s Implementation Guide.
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13. Complete the following information about each individual practice in Delaware where you will be prescribing controlled
substances. Then arrange for your supervising physician(s) at each practice to sign where shown.

If you need more room to list additional Delaware business/practice(s), provide the same information on a
separate sheet and enclose it with the application.

FIRST PRACTICE
Business/Practice Name:

Location Address:

(If more than one location, enter main location. No PO Box!)

DE
City State Zip

Business Phone: Email:

Will you store or dispense, as well as prescribe, controlled substances at this business/practice? Yes [ ] No []

PRACTICE 2
Business/Practice Name:

Location Address:

(If more than one location, enter main location. No PO Box!)

DE
City State Zip

Business Phone: Email:

Will you store or dispense, as well as prescribe, controlled substances at this business/practice? Yes [ ] No []

PRACTICE 3
Business/Practice Name:

Location Address:

(If more than one location, enter main location. No PO Box!)

DE
City State Zip

Business Phone: Email:

Will you store or dispense, as well as prescribe, controlled substances at this business/practice? Yes [ ] No []

SUPERVISION - This section is to be completed by your main and all alternate supervising physicians.

14. Arrange for your main supervising Physician to complete and sign the box below.

MAIN SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN

Name: Specialty:

Name of Primary Practice:

Location of Primary Practice:

Street (No PO Box!)

DE
City State Zip
DE Controlled Substances Registration Number: Federal DEA Number:

Schedules the PA is authorized to prescribe: [ 111 [ ] [JIv [V
Are you delegating authority to request and issue professional controlled legend medication samples? Yes [] No []

Signature of Supervising Physician Date
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15. Do you have any alternate supervising Physicians? Yes [ ] No [] If yes, arrange for each alternate supervising
Physician to complete and sign one of the boxes below.

If you need more room, you may copy and enclose this page with your application.

ALTERNATE SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN

Name: Specialty:

Name of Primary Practice:

Location of Primary Practice:

Street (No PO Box!)

DE
City State Zip
DE Controlled Substances Registration Number: Federal DEA Number:

Check the schedules the PA is authorized to prescribe: [ (1 JIv [V
Are you delegating authority to request and issue professional controlled legend medication samples? Yes [ No []

Signature of Supervising Physician Date

ALTERNATE SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN

Name: Specialty:

Name of Primary Practice:

Location of Primary Practice:

Street (No PO Box!)

DE
City State Zip
DE Controlled Substances Registration Number: Federal DEA Number:

Check the schedules the PA is authorized to prescribe: [0 [ Jul [JIv [V
Are you delegating authority to request and issue professional controlled legend medication samples? Yes [] No []

Signature of Supervising Physician Date

ALTERNATE SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN

Name: Specialty:

Name of Primary Practice:

Location of Primary Practice:

Street (No PO Box!)

DE
City State Zip
DE Controlled Substances Registration Number: Federal DEA Number:

Check the schedules the PA is authorized to prescribe: [0 [Jul [JIv [V
Are you delegating authority to request and issue professional controlled legend medication samples? Yes [] No []

Signature of Supervising Physician Date
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DISCLOSURES

16. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor under state or federal law relating to the manufacture,
distribution or dispensing of controlled substances? Yes [ ] No [] If yes, attach a letter explaining the
circumstances of such action.

17. Have you had any previous registration under the state or federal controlled substances act surrendered, revoked,
suspended, denied or pending such action? Yes [ ] No [] If yes, attach a letter explaining the circumstances of
such action.

MANDATORY TRAINING

18. Have you completed the one-hour Mandatory Course training on Delaware law, regulation and programs on
prescribing and distribution of controlled substances? Yes [] No []

To ensure consideration of your registration application, the Office of Controlled Substances must receive all

of these items:

 Completed, signed and notarized application form
 Fee payment

* Allrequired supporting documentation.

Applications that are not complete within 12 months of filing may be considered abandoned and discarded.
When your application is complete, allow 3-4 weeks to receive your registration.

AFFIDAVIT

| hereby certify that the facts stated in this application, including the statements on the attached schedule, are true,
complete and correct and that application is made to obtain a biennial registration pursuant to the Uniform Controlled

Substances Act.

| agree to abide to the laws of Delaware and the federal government.

Signature of Applicant: Date:

Printed Name:

State of: County of:

Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence this day of , 2

Signature of Notary:

SEAL
My Commission expires:

APPLICATIONS THAT ARE UNSIGNED, NOT NOTARIZED, INCOMPLETE OR NOT ACCOMPANIED BY THE
REQUIRED FEE WILL BE REJECTED.

Revised 12/2016


http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/controlledsubstances/mandatory_course.shtml

	Submit completed signed and notarized Application for Controlled Substances Registration  Physicians Assistants: Off
	Enclose the nonrefundable processing fee by check or money order made payable to State of Delaware: Off
	Arrange for your main supervising Physician and for all alternate supervising Physicians to complete and sign the: Off
	If you have never been issued a US Social Security Number SSN submit a Request for Exemption from Social: Off
	Complete the onehour Mandatory Course training on Delaware law regulation and programs on prescribing and: Off
	I am applying for a new initial CSR I have never held a Delaware CSR: Off
	I am reapplying for registration because my former Delaware CSR is lapsed My previous Delaware CSR number: Off
	I am applying for a CSRs for another location where controlled substances are storeddispensed and no other: Off
	was: 
	How many CSRs are you applying for: 
	No: Off
	If yes enter your license number: Off
	C5: 
	Do you have a Delaware Prescriptive Authority Number from Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline: Off
	No_2: Off
	If yes enter license number  RXPA: 
	When your Delaware CSR is approved you must then file for a federal DEA registration for Delaware You: Off
	No_3: Off
	If yes enter DEA number: 
	II: Off
	III: Off
	IV: Off
	V: Off
	Name: 
	Other Names Used: 
	undefined: 
	undefined_2: 
	Date of Birth monthdayyear: 
	Female: Off
	undefined_3: Off
	If yes enter your SSN: 
	No_4: Off
	If no you must file a Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement: Off
	No_5: Off
	undefined_4: Off
	controlled substances: Off
	No_6: Off
	BusinessPractice Name: 
	Location Address: 
	City: 
	DE: 
	Business Phone: 
	Email: 
	Will you store or dispense as well as prescribe controlled substances at this businesspractice Yes: Off
	No_7: Off
	BusinessPractice Name_2: 
	Location Address_2: 
	City_2: 
	DE_2: 
	Business Phone_2: 
	Email_2: 
	Will you store or dispense as well as prescribe controlled substances at this businesspractice Yes_2: Off
	No_8: Off
	BusinessPractice Name_3: 
	Location Address_3: 
	City_3: 
	DE_3: 
	Business Phone_3: 
	Email_3: 
	Will you store or dispense as well as prescribe controlled substances at this businesspractice Yes_3: Off
	No_9: Off
	Name_2: 
	Specialty: 
	Name of Primary Practice: 
	Location of Primary Practice: 
	City_4: 
	DE_4: 
	DE Controlled Substances Registration Number: 
	Federal DEA Number: 
	Schedules the PA is authorized to prescribe: Off
	II_2: Off
	III_2: Off
	IV_2: Off
	Are you delegating authority to request and issue professional controlled legend medication samples Yes: Off
	No_10: Off
	Date: 
	15 Do you have any alternate supervising Physicians Yes: Off
	No_11: Off
	Name_3: 
	Specialty_2: 
	Name of Primary Practice_2: 
	Location of Primary Practice_2: 
	City_5: 
	DE_5: 
	DE Controlled Substances Registration Number_2: 
	Federal DEA Number_2: 
	Check the schedules the PA is authorized to prescribe: Off
	II_3: Off
	III_3: Off
	IV_3: Off
	Are you delegating authority to request and issue professional controlled legend medication samples Yes_2: Off
	No_12: Off
	Date_2: 
	Name_4: 
	Specialty_3: 
	Name of Primary Practice_3: 
	Location of Primary Practice_3: 
	City_6: 
	DE_6: 
	DE Controlled Substances Registration Number_3: 
	Federal DEA Number_3: 
	Check the schedules the PA is authorized to prescribe_2: Off
	II_4: Off
	III_4: Off
	IV_4: Off
	Are you delegating authority to request and issue professional controlled legend medication samples Yes_3: Off
	No_13: Off
	Date_3: 
	Name_5: 
	Specialty_4: 
	Name of Primary Practice_4: 
	Location of Primary Practice_4: 
	City_7: 
	DE_7: 
	DE Controlled Substances Registration Number_4: 
	Federal DEA Number_4: 
	Check the schedules the PA is authorized to prescribe_3: Off
	II_5: Off
	III_5: Off
	IV_5: Off
	Are you delegating authority to request and issue professional controlled legend medication samples Yes_4: Off
	No_14: Off
	Date_4: 
	16 Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor under state or federal law relating to the manufacture: Off
	No_15: Off
	17 Have you had any previous registration under the state or federal controlled substances act surrendered revoked: Off
	No_16: Off
	18 Have you completed the onehour Mandatory Course training on Delaware law regulation and programs on: Off
	No_17: Off
	Date_5: 
	Printed Name: 
	State of: 
	County of: 
	Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence this: 
	day of: 
	2: 
	My Commission expires: 


