1. How many hours of education do I need for licensure?
  2. Can I do an apprenticeship to get a license?
  3. Can I combine school hours and apprenticeship hours?
  4. Can I use classroom hours from another state or country toward Delaware's education requirement?
  5. What is the fee for a certification of licensure?
  6. When is the practical exam offered?
  7. Do I need to be a high school graduate to apply for a license?
  8. When does my license expire?
  9. How long do I have to renew my license after it has expired?
  10. What is the license fee?
  11. Do I need a license to do permanent make-up?
  12. If I have a business license for my shop, do I need a professional license?
  13. What are the requirements for setting up a shop or salon?
  14. What is the hand-washing sink requirement for shops?
  15. Do I need to have a U.S. Social Security Number in order to obtain a professional license, permit or registration?
  16. Am I required to complete continuing education?
  17. Do I need a license to apply eyelashes or eyelash extensions?
  18. What is the difference between a Barber license and a Master Barber license?

 

Question: How many hours of education do I need for licensure?

Answer: The amount of professional/technical training you need depends on which kind of license you’re applying for:

  • Cosmetologist, Master Barber or Barber - 1500 classroom hours
  • Nail Technician - 300 classroom hours
  • Electrologist - 300 classroom hours
  • Aesthetician - 600 classroom hours
  • Cosmetologist or Barber Instructor - 500 classroom hours of teacher training OR two years’ experience as an active, licensed, practicing cosmetologist or barber plus at least 250 hours of teacher training in cosmetology or barbering
  • Nail Technician Instructor - 500 classroom hours of teacher training OR two years’ experience as an active, licensed, practicing nail technician plus at least 250 hours of teacher training in nail technology
  • Electrologist Instructor - 500 classroom hours of teacher training OR two years’ experience as an active, licensed, practicing electrologist plus at least 50 hours of teacher training in electrology
  • Aesthetician Instructor - 500 classroom hours or two years' experience as an active, licensed practicing aesthetician plus at least 250 hours of instructions in aesthetics.

 

Question: Can I do an apprenticeship to get a license?

Answer: Yes. The hours required are:

  • Cosmetologist or Barber - 3000 apprenticeship hours
  • Nail Technician - 600 apprenticeship hours
  • Electrologist - 600 apprenticeship hours
  • Aesthetician - 1200 apprenticeship hours

See Apprenticeship for more information.

 

Question: Can I combine school hours and apprenticeship hours?

Answer:  Yes.  A 2014 law allows a merged instruction/apprenticeship program for Cosmetologists and Barbers. (See 24 Del. C. §5107(a)(3), subsections c and f.) After completing a 1500-hour apprenticeship, you must then apply for admittance to a 600-hour classroom program that has been approved by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS).  Note that no NACCAS-approved 600-hour course is currently available.

 

Question: Can I use classroom hours from another state or country toward Delaware's education requirement?

Answer: It depends on where your professional/technical training took place.

  • If your training was outside the U.S. or its territories, you must arrange for the Board office to receive a credential evaluation to determine if your training is equivalent to Delaware’s requirement (Section 1.3 of the Rules and Regulations).
  • If your training was in another state or U.S. territory (e.g., Puerto Rico), you may use the hours. However, if the documents that prove your education/training are not in English, you must arrange for the Board office to receive a translation.
  • Agencies that provide credentialing and translation services are listed on www.naces.org.

 

Question: What is the fee for a certification of licensure?

Answer: See Request License Verification.

 

Question: When is the practical exam offered?

Answer: See Testing.

 

Question: Do I need to be a high school graduate to apply for a license?

Answer: If you’re applying for any kind of license other than an Instructor, you must have education equivalent to completing at least the 10th grade. Instructors must have an education equivalent to completing at least the 12th grade.

  • If you went to high school in the U.S. or a U.S. territory, arrange for the Board office to receive your diploma, GED certificate or an official high school transcript.
    • The high school must send the transcript directly to the Board office.
    • If your document is not in English, you must arrange for the Board office to receive a translation.
  • If you went to school outside the U.S. or its territories, arrange for the Board office to receive a credential evaluation to determine if your education is equivalent to Delaware’s requirement.
  • Agencies that provide credentialing and translation services are listed on www.naces.org.

 

Question: When does my license expire?

Answer: See License Renewal.

 

Question: How long do I have to renew my license after it has expired?

Answer: See License Renewal.

 

Question: What is the license fee?

Answer: See Fee Schedule.

 

Question: Do I need a license to do permanent make-up?

Answer: Permanent make-up services are considered a form of body art/tattooing. A permit from the Division of Public Health is required. See Body Art Program or call (302) 744-1220 for information.

 

Question: If I have a business license for my shop, do I need a professional license?

Answer: Yes. You are required to obtain a professional license from the Division of Professional Regulation for each location where you are operating a shop or salon. The professional license is required in addition to the business license from the Division of Revenue. In addition, all persons providing professional services in the shop/salon are required to hold a professional license in their field.

 

Question: What are the requirements for setting up a shop or salon?

Answer: All shops and salons operating in Delaware must comply with the Division of Public Health’s Cosmetology and Barbering Regulations.

 

Question: What is the hand-washing sink requirement for shops?

Answer: See Section 4.9 in the Division of Public Health’s Cosmetology and Barbering Regulations.

 

Question: Do I need to have a U.S. Social Security Number in order to obtain a professional license, permit or registration?

Answer: If you have been issued a U.S. Social Security Number (SSN), you must enter it on your application for a license. The license will not be issued until you provide the SSN.

If you have never been issued a U.S. Social Security Number (SSN), you must submit a notarized affidavit, under penalty of perjury, that you do not have a U.S. SSN. The professional license will not be issued until you provide the required affidavit on the Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement form. If you are later issued a U.S. SSN, you should report it to the Board office.

 

Question: Am I required to complete continuing education?

Answer: No.

 

Question: Do I need a license to apply eyelashes or eyelash extensions?

Answer: Neither the License Law nor Rules and Regulations address eyelashes or eyelash extensions.

 

Question: What is the difference between a Barber license and a Master Barber license?

Answer: The difference is what the law allows each to do. A Barber can shave or trim beards, cut or dress hair, give facial or scalp massages, and treat beards or scalps with preparations made for this purpose. A Master Barber can provide the same services as a Barber but he or she can also embellish, clean or beautify human hair by arranging, dressing, curling, permanent waving, cutting singeing, braiding, pressing, chemically bleaching or coloring, chemically straightening, or similar work. See 24 Del. C. §5101(2) and (11).