
Revised 2/2016 

 
 
 
 

 

APPLICATION FOR HOMEOWNER PERMIT 
INSTRUCTION SHEET 

General Information 

• Homeowner permits are required for new construction, renovation, and any work that requires a building permit. 
Generally, homeowners’ permits are not required for replacement in kind. 

• Only owner-occupants who perform the work themselves qualify for homeowner permits. 

• A single-family dwelling must be on the site or under construction before a homeowner’s permit is issued.  

• Homeowner permits will not be issued for 
o homes that are for sale or rent 
o condominiums, townhomes, duplexes or commercial buildings (such as apartment complex). 

• A homeowner is not permitted to install his or her own internal wiring, electrical work or equipment associated with 
a hot tub or a swimming pool. 

• A homeowner’s permit issued for a mobile home on a leased lot authorizes feeder installation for the mobile home 
itself but does not include installation or repair of service equipment.  

• If a homeowner permit is approved for a dwelling on a lot, other structures on the same lot, such as a non-
commercial garage, are also covered unless prohibited under Section 14.0 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations. 

Permits are valid for only one year and are not renewable. 

Filing Application 

  Submit any of the following as proof of home ownership: 

• Copy of the official, signed Deed with Recorder of Deeds stamp which has been recorded at the County 
Recorder of Deeds Office.  If you need a copy, contact the county office where the home is located:  New Castle 
County (302) 395-7700, Kent County (302) 744-2314, Sussex County (302) 855-7785, or 

• Copy of the long-term lease, e.g. 99 years, if the site of the dwelling is part of a community where title to the land 
is not conveyed by deed to the homeowner, or 

• Copy of the title to a mobile home, or 

• Written contract of sale for a mobile home, signed by the parties, that includes the names of the buyer and seller, 
contract price, date of sale, and identification number of the mobile home  

  Submit a copy of the homeowner’s driver’s license or other photo identification. 

  Submit processing fee of $42 by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware.”  Cash is not accepted.  

  If you have never been issued a U.S. Social Security Number (SSN), submit a Request for Exemption from Social 
Security Number Requirement. 
The Privacy Act of 1974, Section 7, requires the following information to be given to all applicants:  Applicants for any Delaware 
professional or occupational license, permit, registration or certificate (other than Gaming permits) are required to provide a U.S. SSN (29 
Del. C. §8735(m)).  The Division of Professional Regulation uses the SSN primarily to verify identity and safeguard personal information.  It 
may also be used to enforce child support obligation (13 Del. C. §2216) and for other lawful purposes.  

Allow 10 days for processing.  To verify that a permit has been issued, visit dpr.delaware.gov and click Search & 
Verify a Professional License. 
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Having Work Inspected 

Inspections are required in these situations: 

1. Within five days of starting the work, contact one of the following inspection agencies to have the electrical 
work inspected. 

2. Before installing dry wall, contact a Delaware-licensed inspection agency for a “rough in” inspection.   

If you have any questions about the electrical code, contact an inspection agency. 

DELAWARE-LICENSED INSPECTION AGENCIES 

NAME ADDRESS AND CONTACT  

American Inspection Agency  

1111 Polly Drummond Office Park 
Newark, DE 19711 

877-242-1300 
302-292-2000 

30305 Vines Creek Rd, Suite #1 
Dagsboro, DE 19939 

877-242-1300 
302-732-6900 

Building Inspection Underwriters 

Suite 1-C Liberty Plaza 
Newark, DE 19711 

302-266-9057 
800-732-2551 
215-322-2626 
800-352-3457 

 

Code Inspections, Inc. 
1896 Beechwood Drive 
Wilmington, DE  19810 

800-288-2633 
 

Eagle Inspection Agency, LLC 

57 Matthews Rd 
Newark, DE 19713 

302-368-1312 
302-379-3635 

 

First State Inspection Agency 

1001 Mattlind Way 
Milford, DE 19963 

302-422-3859 (phone) 
302-422-4270 (fax) 

800-468-7338 
fsia@verizon.net 

811 N. Broad St. 
Bldg.5, Suite 201 

Middletown, DE 19709 
302-449-5383 

Middle Department Inspection 
Agency 

2024 Duncan Rd 
Wilmington, DE 19808 

302-999-0243 
800-222-6342 

 

United Inspection Agency 
3 Crestfield Rd 

Wilmington, DE 19810 
267-718-8735 
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APPLICATION FOR HOMEOWNER PERMIT 

HOMEOWNER INFORMATION 

1. Name: ________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. Your Mailing Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________ _________________________ ________________ 
         City            State                              Zip code 

3. Daytime Phone: _____________________  Email:_____________________________________________________ 

4. Have you been issued a U.S. Social Security Number?  Yes    No   If yes, enter your SSN:  ________________ 
If no, you must file a Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement. 

INFORMATION ABOUT LOCATION WHERE WORK IS TO BE DONE 

5. Location of Work:  Give street number and name or development name and lot number.   

_______________________________________________ ____________________________  DE ______________ 
  Street Address (No PO Box)      City         Zip code     

6. Type of work (check one):    New Construction  or   Renovation  

7. Type of dwelling (check one):  

 Condominium      Townhouse      Duplex      Commercial Building (such as apartment complex)  

 Mobile Home       Other – describe: ________________________________ 

8. Is the home for sale?  Yes   No  

9. Do you currently live in your home or do you intend to live in it when the work is done?   Yes   No  

10. Is it your vacation home which is not for rent?   Yes  No  

11. Is the home or any part of it rented?  Yes   No  

INFORMATION ABOUT ELECTRICAL WORK 

12. As the homeowner, are you yourself completing the work personally?  Yes   No  

13. Type of Installation: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
     Examples:   new home, re-wire, service change, addition, etc. 

14. Are you installing internal wiring, electrical work, or equipment for a swimming pool or hot tub? Yes   No  

By my signature, I certify that I am the homeowner and that I will personally perform the electrical work. I 
understand that I must file for inspection by a licensed inspection agency within five days after I begin the work. 

SIGNATURE: ___________________________________________________________   Date: ___________________ 

Allow 10 business days for processing. 
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