When to Apply

File the Application for Licensed Home Inspector by Endorsement application when you hold current licensure as a Home Inspector in any jurisdiction (state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia) that has a licensing board for Home Inspectors.

If you do not hold current licensen in any jurisdiction, you may qualify based on your experience. See Home Inspector by Experience. However, if you do not qualify based on experience either, you must register as a Home Inspector Trainee.

Information for Pennsylvania Home Inspectors

The State of Pennsylvania does not have a licensing board for Home Inspectors and does not issue Home Inspector licenses. Membership in a non-profit home inspection society or in the Pennsylvania Home Inspectors Coalition (PHIC) is not considered licensure for purposes of Delaware licensure by endorsement.  If you do not qualify based on experience, you must register as a Home Inspector Trainee.

Requirements for All Applicants

  • Enclose non-refundable processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware.”
  • Arrange for the Board office to receive a letter of good standing directly from each jurisdiction where you have ever been a trainee or held a license.
  • Arrange for the Board office to receive a certificate of Liability, Errors and Omissions Insurance, sent directly from the insurance carrier to the Board office.
    • You or your employer must carry at least $50,000 of errors and omissions insurance and at least $250,000 of liability insurance.
  • You may be required to submit additional documentation depending on whether you are licensed in a jurisdiction where the licensure requirements are substantially similar to Delaware’s requirements (e.g., New Jersey) and whether you are a member of the American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI) or of the National Association of Home Inspectors (NAHI). Read the following instructions carefully.
    • You do not have to submit any additional documentation if…
      • You have practiced five or more years in a jurisdiction where you hold current Home Inspector licensure, or
      • You are licensed as a Home Inspector in New Jersey.
    • The following table shows what additional documentation to submit when you’ve practiced fewer than five years in a jurisdiction where you hold a current license and you are not licensed in New Jersey.

IF you…

AND IF you are licensed…

THEN

hold one of these memberships:

  • inspector or certified inspector member of ASHI, or
  • regular member or certified real estate inspector of NAHI 

Note: ASHI or NAHI associate memberships do not qualify. See below.

anywhere other than New Jersey

submit proof of your ASHI or NAHI membership.

Reason:  NAHI or ASHI membership at this level establishes that you have the required experience of practicing at least one year and completing at least 75 inspections.

  • do not hold any ASHI or NAHI membership, or
  • hold only an associate ASHI or NAHI membership

only in Maryland

STOP. You must register as a Home Inspector Trainee.

Reason:  You do not qualify based on endorsement because the Board has determined that Maryland’s license requirements are not substantially similar to Delaware’s. You also do not qualify based on Home Inspector by Experience.

anywhere other than Maryland and New Jersey

submit copies of the other jurisdictions’ licensing law and rules and regulations for the Board to review.

Reason: The Board will determine if any of the license requirements are substantially similar to Delaware’s. If none are, you must register as a Home Inspector Trainee.