Due to periods of extremely high call volume you may experience long wait times or dropped calls. If this happens, please try again later. We apologize for any inconvenience. More Info
When is the exam held?
Answer: The examinations are given every year in April and October. For information on the Fundamentals of Surveying Examination and the Principles and Practice of Surveying Examination, see www.ncees.org.
Do I have to take an exam if I am applying through reciprocity?
Answer: Yes. You must pass a two-hour exam on drainage and Delaware law. See Examinations on Land Surveyor Licensure.
Can I get a temporary license?
How many Professional Development Hours (PDHs) do I need to renew my license?
Answer: The amount of PDHs that you are required to complete depends on when your license was issued and on whether you are considered retired. If you are 62 years old or older and you work less than 20 hours per week, you are considered retired (Section 10.1.2 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations).
|IF your license was issued…||AND IF you are…||THEN the PDH requirement is:|
|more than two years before the expiration date||not retired||24 with at least two PDH’s in ethics|
|retired||12 with at least one PDH in ethics|
|more than one but less than two years before the expiration date||—||12 with at least one PDH in ethics|
|less than one year before the expiration date||—||0 PDH – you don’t need any PDH’s for the first renewal only|
How many PDHs can I carry over to the next renewal?
When does my license expire?
Answer: Licenses expire on June 30 of each odd-numbered year. See Renewal.
Is a Delaware Professional Engineer required to be licensed as a Delaware Professional Land Surveyor to perform land surveying?
Answer: The law, at 24 Del. C. §2718, says, “Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as preventing or restricting the practice, services, or activities of any person(s) licensed to practice engineering or architecture in Delaware.” Direct all questions about the practice of engineering in Delaware to the Delaware Association of Professional Engineers.
How do I obtain a seal or rubber stamp?
Answer: You must obtain either a seal press or rubber stamp seal. Most office supply stores can imprint a seal for you. For more information and a sample of the seal, see Section 16.5 of the Rules and Regulations.
How do I obtain a wall certificate?
Answer: To receive a wall certificate in addition to the standard license certificate, submit a Request for Wall Certificate with the required fee. When the Board office receives your request and payment, the Board will sign the certificate at its next scheduled meeting.