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IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR MANDATORY DUTY TO REPORT 

Introduction 
As a Delaware-licensed healthcare provider, you have mandatory duties to report under Delaware law. The 
Division of Professional Regulation is enclosing an information sheet similar to this one with the license renewal 
notices of all healthcare providers. The purpose of the information sheet is to explain the mandatory duties to 
report that apply to your profession. 

 
To renew your license, you will be required to certify that you understand each mandatory duty to report explained 
below.  Note that, when appropriate, the Division may keep your name confidential. 

Mandatory Duty to Report Medical Practitioners 
Delaware law mandates you to report a medical practitioner when you reasonably believe that the practitioner is (or 
may be) guilty of unprofessional conduct or unfit to practice (24 Del. C. §1731A). The term medical practitioner 
means anyone who is licensed by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline, including physicians, physician 
assistants, respiratory practitioners, acupuncture practitioners, and genetic counselors. Unprofessional conduct is 
explained in 24 Del. C. §1731. 

You must file your report with the Division of Professional Regulation within 30 days of becoming aware of the 
information. The law imposes a $10,000-$50,000 fine for non-compliance (24 Del. C. 1731A (i)). For information on 
filing a report, go to the Division’s website at www.dpr.delaware.gov and click “Report Healthcare Provider” under 
“Services” on the menu on the left. 

The law allows the Division to keep your identity confidential. It also affords immunity from civil or criminal 
prosecution for good faith reporting (24 Del. C. 1731A (g)). 

Mandatory Duty to Report Child Abuse 
Delaware law also mandates you to make an immediate oral report to the Department of Services for Children, 
Youth and Their Families when you know of, or suspect, child abuse or neglect under Chapter 9 of Title 16 of the 
Delaware Code and to follow up with any requested written reports (16 Del. C. §903). 
You may report child abuse or neglect by calling the Department’s 24-hour child abuse and neglect hotline at   
(800)292-9582. 

The Department will notify the Division of Professional Regulation of child abuse allegations. 

Mandatory Duty to Report Colleagues 
Delaware law 24 Del. C. §2123  mandates that you file a written report with the Division of Profession Regulation 
within 30 days if you reasonably believe that any other Delaware-licensed optometrist or other healthcare practitioner 
is (or may be): 
• engaging (or has engaged) in conduct that would constitute grounds for disciplinary action under the applicable 

license law 
• unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety due to mental illness or incompetence, physical illness 

(including deterioration due to aging or loss of motor skill), or excessive use or abuse of drugs (including alcohol) 
• guilty of unprofessional conduct 
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