
 

 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR UPGRADE TO THERAPEUTIC OPTOMETRIST LICENSURE 
INSTRUCTION SHEET 

When to Apply for Upgrade  

File this application to upgrade to Therapeutic Optometrist licensure if you  
• hold a current Delaware Diagnostic Optometrist license 
• have completed 40 hours of therapeutic experience 
• have passed the treatment and management of ocular disease (TMOD) portion of the National Board of 

Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) examination 

The therapeutic certification requirements are in Section 11.0 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations. 

If you do not hold a current Delaware Diagnostic Optometrist license, you must apply by internship or reciprocity. 

Requirements for All Applicants 

The following are required for upgrade.   

  Submit completed, signed and notarized Application for Upgrade to  Therapeutic Optometrist Licensure.  

  Enclose the upgrade fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware.”     

  Complete the Criminal History Record Check Authorization form to request State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of 
Investigation criminal background checks.  Follow the instructions on the form to arrange to be fingerprinted.  

  If you passed the NBEO’s TMOD examination before 2007, arrange for the Board office to receive an official report of 
your passing scores, sent directly from NBEO to the Board office.   
• If you passed the NBEO in 2007 or later, the Board office generally will have already received your score report 

from NBEO.  If it does not have your scores, the Board office will notify you to request a score report.  
• For information about the exam and requesting score reports, see the NBEO website at www.optometry.org 

   Submit a copy (front and back) of your current CPR certification for adults and children. 

  Arrange for the Board office to receive a letter from your supervising doctor stating that you have completed 40 hours 
of TMOD training under his/her supervision, sent directly from your supervising doctor to the Board office.   
• Your supervising doctor must be a therapeutically-certified optometrist, a medical doctor, or an osteopathic 

doctor.  
• If your supervising doctor is a therapeutically-certified optometrist practicing in a jurisdiction other than Delaware, 

submit a copy of that jurisdiction’s law and regulations on the practice of optometry.  The Board will review the 
therapeutic practice standards in the other jurisdiction to determine if they are similar to Delaware’s standards. 
You must complete the 40 hours of TMOD Training within the 24 months before you file this upgrade application. . 
No clinical experience older than 24 months (prior to application) will be accepted for therapeutic licensure. 

  If you have never been issued a U.S. Social Security Number (SSN), submit a Request for Exemption from Social 
Security Number Requirement. 
The Privacy Act of 1974, Section 7, requires the following information to be given to all applicants:  Applicants for any Delaware 
professional or occupational license, permit, registration or certificate (other than Gaming permits) are required to provide a U.S. 
SSN (29 Del. C. §8735(m)).  The Division of Professional Regulation uses the SSN primarily to verify identity and safeguard 
personal information.  It may also be used to enforce child support obligation (13 Del. C. §2216) and for other lawful purposes.  
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APPLICATION FOR UPGRADE TO THERAPEUTIC OPTOMETRIST LICENSURE  

IDENTIFYING AND CONTACT INFORMATION 

1. Full Name:  _____________________________________ ____________________________  ________________ 
    Last/Family      First   Middle 

2. Other Names Used: _______________________ ______________________________ ______________________ 
(Include maiden, former married names and alternate spellings.) 

3. Date of Birth (month/day/year):  ______________    Gender:  Male    Female  

4. Have you been issued a U.S. Social Security Number?  Yes   No  If yes, enter your SSN:  __________________ 
If no, you must file a Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement. 

5. Mailing Address:  ______________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________ ___________________________ _____________ 
    City         State          Zip 

6. Phone: _______________  ________________  Email: _____________________________________ 
daytime     evening or cell 

THERAPEUTIC CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

7. Enter your current Delaware Diagnostic Optometrist license number:  I2 - ____________________ 

8. Have you passed the TMOD portion of the NBEO examination? Yes    No  

If you passed the NBEO examination before 2007, arrange for the Board office to receive an official report of 
your passing scores on TMOD, sent directly from NBEO to the Board office.  

9. Do you hold current certification to perform CPR on adults and children?  Yes    No   

Submit a copy (front and back) of your current CPR certification for adults and children. 

10. Have you completed 40 hours of TMOD training under the supervision of a therapeutically-certified optometrist, 
medical doctor or osteopathic doctor?  Yes    No   If yes, enter the following information about experience: 

Enter Period of Supervised TMOD Training:  From:  ________________  To:  __________________ 
month/year        month/year 

Supervising Doctor: ____________________________________  Physician     Therapeutic Optometrist 

Arrange for the Board office to receive a letter from your supervising doctor, sent directly from the 
supervising doctor to the Board office, stating that you have completed 40 hours of TMOD training under 
his/her supervision. If you checked Physician, skip to the DUTY TO REPORT section.  If you checked 
Therapeutic Optometrist, continue with the next question. 

11. Where did your supervised TMOD training occur?   Delaware    Other Jurisdiction   If you checked Other 
Jurisdiction, enter the jurisdiction(s) and submit a copy of the jurisdiction’s law and regulations on the 
practice of optometry: ____________________________________ 
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DUTY TO REPORT 

12. To obtain a license in Delaware, you must certify that you understand that you have a mandatory obligation to file a 
written report with the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline within 30 days if you have any reason to believe that 
a medical practitioner other than yourself is (or may be) guilty of unprofessional conduct as defined in 24 Del. C. 
§1731 OR that he/she is (or may be): 
• medically incompetent 
• mentally or physically unable to engage safely in the practice of medicine  
• excessively using or abusing drugs including alcohol. 

 I certify that I have read and understand the provisions of 24 Del. C. §1730, 24 Del. C. §1731 and 24 Del. C. §1731A 
and that I understand my duty to report. Yes    No    

13. To obtain a license in Delaware, you must certify that you understand that you have a mandatory obligation to make 
an immediate oral report to the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families if you know of, or you 
suspect, child abuse or neglect under Chapter 9 of Title 16 and to follow up with any requested written reports. 

I certify that I have read and understand 16 Del. C. §903 and that I understand my duty to report. Yes    No    

To assure that your application is ready for Board review, the Board office must receive all of these items no 
later than 4:30 PM ten full working days before the Board’s meeting date: 
• Completed, signed and notarized application form 
• Fee payment 
• All required supporting documentation. 

Applications that are not complete within 12 months of filing may be considered abandoned and discarded.   

AFFIDAVIT 

I certify that the information in this application is complete and true.  I understand that the intentional inclusion of false or 
fraudulent information in this application, or the material omission of information which might have a bearing on licensure, 
may result in the denial of licensure and will be reported to the Attorney General for further action.  I understand that the 
application fee is not refundable. 

Signature of Applicant: __________________________________________________Date: ___________________ 

City of _____________________  County of _____________________________________ 

Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence this _________________ day of _____, 2____ 

   Signature of Notary: ________________________ 
SEAL 

My commission expires: _____________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

APPLICATIONS THAT ARE UNSIGNED, NOT NOTARIZED, INCOMPLETE OR NOT ACCOMPANIED BY THE 
REQUIRED FEE WILL BE REJECTED. 
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Instructions for Requesting a Criminal Background Check 
Both State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal background checks are required. 

Applicant Notification  

Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).  You have 
the opportunity to challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record.  See Title 28, CFR 
16.34 for the procedure to obtain a change, correction or update in the FBI record. 

Locations 
Kent County – Primary Facility 

State Bureau of Identification 
Blue Hen Mall & Corporate Center 

655 S. Bay Rd. Suite 1B 
Dover, DE 19901 

Walk-ins accepted: Mon 8:30 am – 6:30 pm, Tue - Fri 8:30 am – 3:30 pm 
Customer Service: (302) 739-2134 

New Castle County - Satellite Facility 
State Police Troop Two 

100 LaGrange Ave 
Newark, DE 19702 

(between Rts. 72 and 896 on Rt. 40) 
By appointment only 

Scheduling: (302) 739-2528 (local) 
(800) 464-4357 (toll free) 

Sussex County – Satellite Facility 
Thurman Adams State Service Center 

546 S. Bedford Street, Rm. 202 
Georgetown DE 19947 

(across from DelDOT & Troop 4) 
By appointment only 

Scheduling: (302) 739-2528 (local) 
(800) 464-4357 (toll free) 

Applicants in Delaware 

1. If you are using the New Castle County or Sussex County locations, call (800) 464-HELP (4357) to 
schedule an appointment. No appointments are needed at the Kent County location. 

2. Take the completed Authorization for Release of Information form to one of the offices listed above with the 
fee of $65.00, to cover both the State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal checks. 
Money orders and credit cards other than American Express are accepted at all locations. New Castle and 
Kent Counties accept cash; Sussex County does not accept cash.  Personal checks are not accepted in 
any county. As fees are subject to change, contact the agency where you plan to submit your forms for 
current fees. 

Applicants Not in Delaware (including Out-of-State or Outside the United States) 

1. Your local police agency can fingerprint you. All types of fingerprint cards are accepted. Or, you may print a FD-
258 fingerprint form available on the FBI website at www.fbi.gov – click Services, then Identity History Summary 
Checks, then scroll down to Option 1, Step 2, and click the link for standard fingerprint form (FD-258).  You may 
print the form on regular paper. 

2. Your Authorization for Release of Information form and the fingerprint card must be complete. If identifying 
information is missing (such as name, date of birth, race, gender, etc.), your form will be returned.  

3. Mail the Authorization form, fingerprint card, and certified check or 
money order (personal checks are not accepted) for $65.00 made 
payable to “Delaware State Police” to: 

 
 

DO NOT SEND THIS FORM OR FEE TO YOUR PROFESSION’S BOARD OFFICE. 
DO NOT SEND THIS FORM OR FEE TO THE DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION. 

ALLOW FOUR WEEKS FOR RECEIPT OF RESULTS. 

Delaware State Police 
State Bureau of Identification (SBI) 

PO Box 430 
Dover, DE 19903-0430 
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AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK FOR PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE APPLICANTS 

Please print or type all information in black ink. 

Check the type of license for which you are applying:  

 Adult Entertainment  Mental Health  (LPCMH, LCDP, LMFT, LAPCMH, LAMFT)  Physical Therapy/Athletic Trainer 

 Charitable Gaming Vendor  Nursing (RN, LPN, APRN)  Podiatry 

 Chiropractic  Nursing Home Administrator  Psychology 

 Dental  Occupational Therapy  Real Estate Appraiser (includes 
Appraisal Management Company) 

 Funeral  Optometry    Speech/Hearing 

 Massage  Pharmacy (includes key personnel of facilities licensed by 
Board of Pharmacy)  Social Work 

 Medical (Physicians, Physician Assistants, Respiratory Care Practitioners, Eastern Medicine Practitioners, 
Acupuncture Practitioners, Genetic Counselors, Polysomnographers, Midwifery Practitioners (CM, CPM))  Texas Hold’em Individual 

Print your current full name: 
____________________________________  ____________________________________    ________________  _______________ 

Last Name     First Name   Middle  Initial          Suffix (e.g., Jr., Sr.)  

Enter all other names you have used in the past (including, but not limited to, maiden name, former married 
names, alternative spellings): 

1. __________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. __________________________________________________________________________________ 

3. __________________________________________________________________________________ 

4. __________________________________________________________________________________ 

As an applicant, I authorize release of any and all information that you have concerning my CRIMINAL HISTORY 
RECORD INFORMATION. I hereby release you, your organization, the State of Delaware and others from any liability or 
damage which may result from furnishing this information: 

SIGNATURE OF PERSON PRINTED: __________________________________________   Date: _________________ 

Phone:     Home _______________________  Work _______________________ 

Mail the results of my criminal history request to:    Division of Professional Regulation 
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 203 
Dover DE 19904 
SLC  D420A 

USE OF CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD INFORMATION IS RESTRICTED BY LAW AND SHALL BE LIMITED TO THE 
PURPOSE FOR WHICH IT WAS GIVEN.  MISUSE CONSTITUTES A CRIMINAL VIOLATION. 

CANNON BUILDING 
861 SILVER LAKE BLVD., SUITE  203 
DOVER, DELAWARE 19904-2467 

STATE OF DELAWARE 

TELEPHONE: (302) 744-4500 
FAX: (302) 739-2711 

WEBSITE: DPR.DELAWARE.GOV 
EMAIL: customerservice.dpr@state.de.us  

Revised 12/2016 

http://dpr.delaware.gov/index.shtml
mailto:customerservice.dpr@state.de.us

	APPLICATION FOR UPGRADE TO THERAPEUTIC OPTOMETRIST LICENSURE
	APPLICATION FOR UPGRADE TO THERAPEUTIC OPTOMETRIST LICENSURE
	IDENTIFYING AND CONTACT INFORMATION

	Submit completed signed and notarized Application for Upgrade to  Therapeutic Optometrist Licensure: Off
	Enclose the upgrade fee by check or money order made payable to State of Delaware: Off
	Complete the Criminal History Record Check Authorization form to request State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of: Off
	If you passed the NBEOs TMOD examination before 2007 arrange for the Board office to receive an official report of: Off
	Submit a copy front and back of your current CPR certification for adults and children: Off
	Arrange for the Board office to receive a letter from your supervising doctor stating that you have completed 40 hours: Off
	If you have never been issued a US Social Security Number SSN submit a Request for Exemption from Social: Off
	LastFamily: 
	First: 
	Middle: 
	Include maiden former married names and alternate spellings: 
	undefined: 
	undefined_2: 
	Date of Birth monthdayyear: 
	Gender Male: Off
	Female: Off
	If yes enter your SSN: 
	Have you been issued a US Social Security Number  Yes: Off
	No: Off
	Mailing Address 1: 
	Mailing Address 2: 
	State: 
	Zip: 
	daytime: 
	evening or cell: 
	Email: 
	Enter your current Delaware Diagnostic Optometrist license number  I2: 
	Have you passed the TMOD portion of the NBEO examination Yes: Off
	No_2: Off
	Do you hold current certification to perform CPR on adults and children  Yes: Off
	No_3: Off
	medical doctor or osteopathic doctor  Yes: Off
	No_4: Off
	monthyear: 
	monthyear_2: 
	Arrange for the Board office to receive a letter from your supervising doctor sent directly from the: 
	undefined_3: Off
	Physician: Off
	11 Where did your supervised TMOD training occur: Off
	Delaware: Off
	practice of optometry: 
	and that I understand my duty to report Yes: Off
	No_5: Off
	I certify that I have read and understand 16 Del C 903 and that I understand my duty to report Yes: Off
	No_6: Off
	Date: 
	City of: 
	County of: 
	Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence this: 
	day of: 
	2: 
	My commission expires: 
	Adult Entertainment: Off
	Charitable Gaming Vendor: Off
	Chiropractic: Off
	Dental: Off
	Funeral: Off
	Massage: Off
	Medical Physicians Physician Assistants Respiratory Care Practitioners Eastern Medicine Practitioners: Off
	Physical TherapyAthletic Trainer: Off
	Podiatry: Off
	Psychology: Off
	Real Estate Appraiser includes: Off
	SpeechHearing: Off
	Social Work: Off
	Texas Holdem Individual: Off
	Mental Health LPCMH LCDP LMFT LAPCMH LAMFT: Off
	Nursing RN LPN APRN: Off
	Nursing Home Administrator: Off
	Occupational Therapy: Off
	Optometry: Off
	Pharmacy includes key personnel of facilities licensed by: Off
	Last Name: 
	First Name: 
	Middle Initial: 
	Suffix eg Jr Sr: 
	1: 
	2_2: 
	3: 
	4: 
	Date_2: 
	Home: 
	Work: 


