
 
 
 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR APPRAISER TRAINEE 

INSTRUCTIONS 

When to Apply 

Apply after you have completed 75 hours of qualifying education (QE).  You earn QE hours only from courses required by the 
Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) in its core curriculum. For information on the core curriculum, see Real Property Appraiser 
Qualification Criteria. There is no experience or examination requirement. 

You must complete  
• all QE within the five-year period before you submit an application for Appraiser Trainee 
• an AQB-approved Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course before your Trainee Appraiser license will be issued. 

Requirements 

   Submit a completed, signed and notarized Application for Appraiser Trainee. 

   Enclose the non-refundable processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware”  

   Complete the Criminal History Record Check Authorization form to request State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of 
Investigation criminal background checks.  Follow the instructions on the authorization form to arrange to be fingerprinted.    

   Enclose copies of your QE certificates. 
• Each course must consist of at least 15 classroom hours and include an examination.   
• At least 15 hours must be the required USPAP course.   

   Enclose a copy of your AQB-approved Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course completion certificate. 
• You must complete this course before your Trainee Appraiser license will be issued. 
• You cannot use this course as QE. 

   Arrange for the Council office to receive Verification of Real Estate Appraiser Supervision form (included with the application) 
completed and signed by your supervising Certified Real Property Appraiser (General or Residential). 
• The supervisor must send the form directly to the Council office. 
• If you have more than one supervisor, each supervisor must submit a completed and signed form.  

   If you have ever been licensed or certified as an appraiser in another jurisdiction (state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia), 
arrange for the Council office to receive a letter of good standing sent directly from one jurisdiction where you held appraiser 
certification/licensure.  This includes trainee permits. 

When the application is complete, the Council will review it at its next meeting. If approved, the Council office will notify you.   

IDENTIFYING AND CONTACT INFORMATION 

1. Name: ____________________________________________ ______________________________ _____________ 
  Last                                                 First                                                         M.I. 

2. Other Names Used: _____________________ _____________________ __________________________   None 
(Include maiden, other married, alternative spellings.) 

3. Date of Birth (month/day/year): ___________________   Gender:    Male     Female 

4. Have you been issued a U.S. Social Security Number?  Yes   No  If yes, enter your SSN: _________________ 
If no, you must file a Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement. 
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5. Residence Address:_____________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________  ______________________  _______________ 
               City                                                               State                                     Zip code 

6. Residence Phone:  _____________________ Residence Email: ________________________________   None 

SUPERVISION INFORMATION  

7. Enter names of all supervisors:  
 
 
 
 
 
 

Arrange for the Council office to receive a Verification of Real Estate Appraiser Supervision form completed 
and signed by each supervising Certified Real Property Appraiser (General or Residential) listed above. 

8. Business Name:________________________________________________________________________________ 

9. Business Address:______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________  ______________________  _______________ 
               City                                                               State                                     Zip code 

10. Business Phone:  ____________________  Business Email: ___________________________________________ 

EDUCATION 

11. List each qualifying education (QE) course you have completed.  Attach a separate sheet if you need more space.    

COURSE TITLE SPONSOR NAME DATE COMPLETED 
(month/year) 

HOURS 
COMPLETED 

    

    

    

    

    

Submit copies of your QE completion certificates. 

12. Have you completed an AQB-approved Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course?  Yes    No   If yes, 
enter the following information about the course: 

Provider: _________________________________________________________ Date Completed: _____________ 

Submit a copy of the course completion certificate.  If you have not yet completed the course, you must 
complete it before your Trainee license will be issued. 

LICENSURE HISTORY 

13. Have you ever been an appraiser trainee or been 
licensed or certified as a real estate appraiser in 
any jurisdiction? Yes  No   If yes, list each 
jurisdiction: 

 
 
 

Arrange for the Council office to receive a letter of good standing directly from one jurisdiction where you 
were a trainee or you held a license or certification. 

SUPERVISOR NAME DE CERTIFICATION NUMBER 

 X ___ - _____________________ 
 X ___ - _____________________ 
 X ___ - _____________________ 

JURISDICTION LICENSE 
NUMBER 
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DISCLOSURES 

14. Have you ever been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) to any felony, 
misdemeanor or other criminal offense, including any offense for which you have received a pardon, in any 
jurisdiction?   Yes    No   If yes, submit a signed statement explaining fully.  

Arrange for the Board office to receive State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal 
background checks following the instructions on the Criminal History Record Check Authorization form.   

15. Are any criminal charges pending against you in any jurisdiction?  Yes  No   If yes, submit a certified copy of 
your criminal history record.  

16. Have you ever received any administrative penalties (disciplines) regarding your practice as an appraiser, including 
but not limited to fines, formal reprimands, license suspensions or revocation (except for license revocations for 
nonpayment of license renewal fees), probationary limitations, or have you entered into any agreements which 
contain conditions placed by a regulatory agency on your professional conduct and practice, including any voluntary 
surrender of a license, certificate or registration in Delaware or elsewhere? Yes  No   If yes, submit a copy of 
the agency’s order and a written explanation. 

17. Are any disciplinary proceedings or unresolved complaints pending against you in any jurisdiction where you are 
currently, or were previously, licensed, certified, or registered?  Yes  No    If yes, submit a written explanation. 

18. Do you have any impairment related to drugs or alcohol that would limit your ability to act as an appraiser in a manner 
consistent with the safety of the public? Yes  No   If yes, submit a written explanation. 

To ensure consideration of your license application at the next Council meeting, the Council office must 
receive all of these items no later than 4:30 PM ten full working days before the meeting date: 
• Completed, signed and notarized application form 
• Fee payment 
• All required supporting documentation. 

Applications that are not complete within 12 months of filing may be considered abandoned and discarded.  
When your application is complete, allow 4-6 weeks to receive your license.  

AFFIDAVIT 
I, the applicant, being duly sworn according to law, depose and say that the answers above set forth are true to the best of 
my knowledge and belief and that the application is made for the purpose of inducing the issuance of the license 
requested.  I hereby confirm that I have read and agree to abide by all appraiser laws and rules in the State of Delaware 
and agree to cooperate with any investigation initiated by the Council on Real Estate Appraisers including providing 
relevant documents and personally appearing before the Council and/or its investigators. 

Applicant Signature: _______________________________________________  Date: ____________ 

State of __________________________  County of _________________________ 

Sworn and subscribed to before me this ____________________ day of _____________________________, 2____. 

  Signature of Notary Public: _________________________________________________  

SEAL 

My commission expires: ___________ 
 
 
 
 
 
APPLICATIONS THAT ARE UNSIGNED, NOT NOTARIZED, INCOMPLETE, OR SUBMITTED WITHOUT THE 

REQUIRED PROCESSING FEE WILL BE REJECTED. 
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VERIFICATION OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISER SUPERVISION 

INSTRUCTIONS 
Each of a Trainee applicant’s supervising Certified Real Property Appraisers completes, signs and submits this form.  

Supervisory Appraiser Requirements and Responsibilities 

• You must complete an AQB-approved Supervisory/Trainee Appraiser course before supervising a trainee appraiser.  Submit 
a copy of the course completion certificate with this form.  

• You are permitted to supervise Trainee Appraisers only if you have been state-certified for at least three years. 

• You are not permitted to supervisor Trainee Appraisers if the Council has disciplined you within the preceding three years.  

• You may supervise up to three Trainee Appraisers at the same time.  

See Section 4.2 of the Council’s Rules and Regulations for information about supervisory requirements and responsibilities. 

Send the form directly to the Council office at the address above. 

TRAINEE APPLICANT – To be completed by applicant for Appraiser Trainee 

Name: ____________________________________________ _________________________________ ____________ 
   Last                                                                            First                                        Middle Initial 

SUPERVISOR – To be completed by supervising Certified Real Property Appraiser (General or Residential) 

1. Name: _________________________________________ _________________________________ ____________ 
  Last                                                                            First                                          Middle Initial 

2. Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________  ___________________  _______________ 
                City                                                       State                            Zip code 

3. Phone:  _______________________  Email:  ______________________________________ 

4. Delaware Certified Real Property Appraiser (General or Residential) License Number: X ____  -  ________________ 

5. Have you been state-certified for at least three years? Yes  No   If no, STOP.  You are prohibited from 
supervising Trainee Appraisers. 

6. Have you received any administrative penalties (disciplines) regarding your practice as an appraiser during the past 
three years? Yes  No   If yes, STOP.  You are prohibited from supervising Trainee Appraisers. 

7. Have you completed an AQB-approved Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser course?  Yes    No   If no, 
STOP.  You are prohibited from supervising Trainees.  If yes, enter the following information about the 
course: 

Provider: _________________________________________________________ Date Completed: _____________ 

Submit a copy of the course completion certificate. 

8. I certify that the Trainee applicant named above will assist in completing appraisal reports, including an opinion of 
value, and may co-sign the appraisal under my supervision. Yes  No  
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9. I certify that I will: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
9. Do you supervise any Trainee other than 

the one named above?  Yes  No   If 
yes, complete the information at right: 

 
 
 

10. Do you agree to notify the Council in writing when you are no longer supervising the trainee?  Yes  No  

Supervisor Signature: ___________________________________________  Date: _________________ 

State of __________________________  County of _________________________ 

Sworn and subscribed to before me this ____________________ day of __________________________, 2_______. 

  Signature of Notary Public: _________________________________________________  
SEAL 

My commission expires: ___________ 

• actively and personally supervise the trainee   Yes   No  

• review and sign the appraisal report  Yes   No  

• accept total responsibility for the appraisal report  Yes   No  

• review and approve the trainee’s Experience Log and provide copies of any appraisal 
reports the trainee assisted in preparing as requested by the Council.  Yes   No   

• comply with all rules and policies for supervisory appraisers.  Yes   No  

TRAINEE NAME LICENSE 
NUMBER 

JURISDICTIO
N 
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Instructions for Requesting a Criminal Background Check 

Both State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal background checks are required. 

Applicant Notification  

Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).  You have 
the opportunity to challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record.  See Title 28, CFR 
16.34 for the procedure to obtain a change, correction or update in the FBI record. 

Locations 
Kent County – Primary Facility 

State Bureau of Identification 
Blue Hen Mall & Corporate Center 

655 S. Bay Rd. Suite 1B 
Dover, DE 19901 

Walk-ins accepted: Mon 8:30 am – 6:30 pm, Tue - Fri 8:30 am – 3:30 pm 
Customer Service: (302) 739-2134 

New Castle County - Satellite Facility 
State Police Troop Two 

100 LaGrange Ave 
Newark, DE 19702 

(between Rts. 72 and 896 on Rt. 40) 
By appointment only 

Scheduling: (302) 739-2528 (local) 
(800) 464-4357 (toll free) 

Sussex County – Satellite Facility 
Thurman Adams State Service Center 

546 S. Bedford Street, Rm. 202 
Georgetown DE 19947 

(across from DelDOT & Troop 4) 
By appointment only 

Scheduling: (302) 739-2528 (local) 
(800) 464-4357 (toll free) 

Applicants in Delaware 

1. If you are using the New Castle County or Sussex County locations, call (800) 464-HELP (4357) to 
schedule an appointment. No appointments are needed at the Kent County location. 

2. Take the completed Authorization for Release of Information form to one of the offices listed above with the 
fee of $65.00, to cover both the State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal checks. 
Money orders and credit cards other than American Express are accepted at all locations. New Castle and 
Kent Counties accept cash; Sussex County does not accept cash.  Personal checks are not accepted in 
any county. As fees are subject to change, contact the agency where you plan to submit your forms for 
current fees. 

Applicants Not in Delaware (including Out-of-State or Outside the United States) 

1. Your local police agency can fingerprint you. All types of fingerprint cards are accepted. Or, you may print a 
FD-258 fingerprint form available on the FBI website at www.fbi.gov – click Services, then Identity History 
Summary Checks, then scroll down to Option 1, Step 2, and click the link for standard fingerprint form (FD-
258).  You may print the form on regular paper. 

2. Your Authorization for Release of Information form and the fingerprint card must be complete. If identifying 
information is missing (such as name, date of birth, race, gender, etc.), your form will be returned.  

3. Mail the Authorization form, fingerprint card, and certified 
check or money order (personal checks are not accepted) 
for $65.00 made payable to “Delaware State Police” to: 

 
 

DO NOT SEND THIS FORM OR FEE TO YOUR PROFESSION’S BOARD OFFICE. 
DO NOT SEND THIS FORM OR FEE TO THE DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION. 

ALLOW FOUR WEEKS FOR RECEIPT OF RESULTS. 

Delaware State Police 
State Bureau of Identification (SBI) 

PO Box 430 
Dover, DE 19903-0430 

Revised 12/2016 

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=241f72c3c911ccc20f5a9b6e5552f044&mc=true&node=se28.1.16_134&rgn=div8
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=241f72c3c911ccc20f5a9b6e5552f044&mc=true&node=se28.1.16_134&rgn=div8
https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/standard-fingerprint-form-fd-258-1.pdf/view
http://www.fbi.gov/


 

 
 

AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK FOR PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE APPLICANTS 

Please print or type all information in black ink. 

Check the type of license for which you are applying:  

 Adult Entertainment  Mental Health  (LPCMH, LCDP, LMFT, LAPCMH, LAMFT)  Physical Therapy/Athletic Trainer 

 Charitable Gaming Vendor  Nursing (RN, LPN, APRN)  Podiatry 

 Chiropractic  Nursing Home Administrator  Psychology 

 Dental  Occupational Therapy  Real Estate Appraiser (includes 
Appraisal Management Company) 

 Funeral  Optometry    Speech/Hearing 

 Massage  Pharmacy (includes key personnel of facilities licensed by 
Board of Pharmacy)  Social Work 

 Medical (Physicians, Physician Assistants, Respiratory Care Practitioners, Eastern Medicine Practitioners, 
Acupuncture Practitioners, Genetic Counselors, Polysomnographers, Midwifery Practitioners (CM, CPM))  Texas Hold’em Individual 

Print your current full name: 
____________________________________  ____________________________________    ________________  _______________ 

Last Name     First Name   Middle  Initial          Suffix (e.g., Jr., Sr.)  

Enter all other names you have used in the past (including, but not limited to, maiden name, former married 
names, alternative spellings): 

1. __________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. __________________________________________________________________________________ 

3. __________________________________________________________________________________ 

4. __________________________________________________________________________________ 

As an applicant, I authorize release of any and all information that you have concerning my CRIMINAL HISTORY 
RECORD INFORMATION. I hereby release you, your organization, the State of Delaware and others from any liability or 
damage which may result from furnishing this information: 

SIGNATURE OF PERSON PRINTED: __________________________________________   Date: _________________ 

Phone:     Home _______________________  Work _______________________ 

Mail the results of my criminal history request to:    Division of Professional Regulation 
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 203 
Dover DE 19904 
SLC  D420A 

USE OF CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD INFORMATION IS RESTRICTED BY LAW AND SHALL BE LIMITED TO THE 
PURPOSE FOR WHICH IT WAS GIVEN.  MISUSE CONSTITUTES A CRIMINAL VIOLATION. 
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