
 

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION AS AN ASSESSOR  
INSTRUCTIONS 

When to Apply 

To practice assessing in Delaware, you must hold one of these licenses:  
• Certified Assessor, or 
• Certified Residential Appraiser, or 
• Certified General Appraiser   

You may file an application for Certified Assessor licensure after you have completed 90 hours of qualifying education 
(QE).  For information on assessor education, see the International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO) website. 

Requirements for All Applications 

  Submit a completed, signed and notarized Application for Certification as an Assessor. 

  Enclose the non-refundable processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware”  

  Enclose copies of your certificates for 90 hours of QE with test results for each examination.   

  Submit a copy of your high school diploma, or its equivalent.  
• If you do not have a high school diploma or its equivalent, you must have at least two years of assessing 

experience.  To establish your experience, submit one of the following: 
o Official county forms that you signed showing market value change for assessment purposes on a property or 

groups of properties.  You must provide four property documents per year for the past three years. 
o Documents that you signed indicating you are responsible for defending an assessment valuation on a 

property or group of properties before an assessment board or similar entity. 
o Documentation indicating your responsibility in defending an assessment appeal litigation.  The documents 

may be in the form of an appraisal or other document. 

  If you have ever been licensed or certified as an assessor in another jurisdiction (state, U.S. territory or District of 
Columbia), arrange for the Council office to receive a letter of good standing sent directly from each jurisdiction where 
you have ever held assessor certification/licensure. 

  If you have never been issued a U.S. Social Security Number (SSN), submit a Request for Exemption from Social 
Security Number Requirement. 
The Privacy Act of 1974, Section 7, requires the following information to be given to all applicants:  Applicants for any Delaware professional or 
occupational license, permit, registration or certificate (other than Gaming permits) are required to provide a U.S. SSN (29 Del. C. §8735(m)).  The 
Division of Professional Regulation uses the SSN primarily to verify identity and safeguard personal information.  It may also be used to enforce 
child support obligation (13 Del. C. §2216) and for other lawful purposes. 

When the application is considered complete, the Council will review it at its next meeting. If approved, the Council office 
will notify you.   
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APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION AS AN ASSESSOR 

IDENTIFYING AND CONTACT INFORMATION 

1. Name: ____________________________________________ ______________________________ _____________ 
  Last                                                 First                                                         M.I. 

2. Other Names Used: _____________________ _____________________ ___________________________ None  
(Include maiden, other married, alternative spellings.) 

3. Date of Birth (month/day/year): ___________________   Gender:    Male     Female 

4. Have you been issued a U.S. Social Security Number?  Yes   No  If yes, enter your SSN: _________________ 
If no, you must file a Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement. 

5. Mailing (Residence) Address:_____________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________  ______________________  _______________ 
               City                                                               State                                     Zip code 

6. Phone:  ____________________  Email:  _________________________________________ None  

EDUCATION 

7. Do you have a high school diploma or its equivalent?  Yes  No   If yes, submit a copy of your high school 
diploma.  If no, provide proof of two years of assessing experience.  See Instructions for details. 

8. List each qualifying assessor appraisal education course you have completed.  If you need more room you may 
enclose a separate sheet.    

COURSE TITLE SPONSOR NAME DATE COMPLETED 
(month/year) 

HOURS 
COMPLETED 

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

Enclose copies of your certificates for 90 hours of QE with test results for each examination.     
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LICENSURE HISTORY 

9. Have you ever been licensed or certified as an 
assessor in any jurisdiction? Yes  No   If 
yes, list all jurisdictions: 

Arrange for the Council office to receive a 
letter of good standing directly from each 
jurisdiction listed.   

 
 

EMPLOYMENT/EXPERIENCE HISTORY 

10. Are you presently employed by a government entity or revaluation company on contract with a governmental entity for 
real estate tax assessment for ad valorem taxation purposes?   Yes  No   

11. Are you directly responsible for the valuation of real property for ad valorem taxation purposes?    Yes  No   If 
yes, enter the date you assumed this responsibility:________________ 

12. Enter the following information about your employment for the past five years. Begin with your present employment 
below and, working backward, continue with your former employers on the next page.  Enclose additional sheets as 
needed. 

CURRENT EMPLOYER 

Employer/Agency Name: _______________________________________________________________________ 

Employer Address: ___________________________________________________________________________  

__________________________________ _________________ ___________ 
City                                 State      Zip 

Employer Phone: ________________ Your Position/Title: __________________________________ 

Employment Dates:  __________________ __________________  
From (month/year)    To (month/year) 

Supervisor Name: ________________________________  Delaware Assessor License No. X6 - __________________ 

Describe your job duties: 
 

 

JURISDICTION LICENSE NUMBER 
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You may copy this page if necessary. 
 

FORMER EMPLOYER 

Employer/Agency Name: _______________________________________________________________________ 

Employer Address: ___________________________________________________________________________  

__________________________________ _________________ ___________ 
City                                 State      Zip 

Employer Phone: ________________ Your Position/Title: __________________________________ 

Employment Dates:  __________________ __________________  
From (month/year)    To (month/year) 

Supervisor Name: ________________________________________ 

Describe your job duties: 

 

 

 

FORMER EMPLOYER 

Employer/Agency Name: _______________________________________________________________________ 

Employer Address: ___________________________________________________________________________  

__________________________________ _________________ ___________ 
City                                 State      Zip 

Employer Phone: ________________ Your Position/Title: __________________________________ 

Employment Dates:  __________________ __________________  
From (month/year)    To (month/year) 

Supervisor Name: ________________________________________ 

Describe your job duties: 

 

 

 

FORMER EMPLOYER 

Employer/Agency Name: _______________________________________________________________________ 

Employer Address: ___________________________________________________________________________  

__________________________________ _________________ ___________ 
City                                 State      Zip 

Employer Phone: ________________ Your Position/Title: __________________________________ 

Employment Dates:  __________________ __________________  
From (month/year)    To (month/year) 

Supervisor Name: ________________________________________ 
 
Describe your job duties: 
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DISCLOSURES 

13. Have you ever been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) to any felony, 
misdemeanor or other criminal offense, including any offense for which you have received a pardon, in any 
jurisdiction?   Yes    No   If yes, submit a complete explanation and a certified copy of your criminal history 
record from any jurisdiction in which you have been convicted or pardoned.  For information on obtaining a 
Delaware criminal history record, see State Bureau of Identification.  

14. Are any criminal charges pending against you in any jurisdiction?  Yes  No   If yes, submit a certified copy of 
your criminal history record.  

15. Have you ever received any administrative penalties (disciplines) regarding your practice as an assessor, including 
but not limited to fines, formal reprimands, license suspensions or revocation (except for license revocations for 
nonpayment of license renewal fees), probationary limitations, or have you entered into any agreements which 
contain conditions placed by a regulatory agency on your professional conduct and practice, including any voluntary 
surrender of a license, certificate or registration in Delaware or elsewhere? Yes  No   If yes, submit a copy of 
the agency’s order and a written explanation. 

16. Are any disciplinary proceedings or unresolved complaints pending against you in any jurisdiction where you are 
currently, or were previously, licensed, certified, or registered?  Yes  No    If yes, submit a written explanation. 

17. Do you have any impairment related to drugs or alcohol that would limit your ability to act as an assessor in a manner 
consistent with the safety of the public? Yes  No   If yes, submit a written explanation. 

18. Do you understand that you must report changes in your contact information or employer within 10 days?  
Yes  No  

To ensure consideration of your license application at the next Council meeting, the Council office must 
receive all of these items no later than 4:30 PM ten full working days before the meeting date: 
• Completed, signed and notarized application form 
• Fee payment 
• All required supporting documentation. 
Applications that are not complete within 12 months of filing may be considered abandoned and discarded.   
When your application is complete, please allow 4-6 weeks to receive your license.  

AFFIDAVIT 
I, the applicant, being duly sworn according to law, depose and say that the answers above set forth are true to the best of 
my knowledge and belief and that the application is made for the purpose of inducing the issuance of the license 
requested.  I hereby confirm that I have read and agree to abide by all assessor laws and rules in the State of Delaware 
and agree to cooperate with any investigation initiated by the Council on Real Estate Appraisers including providing 
relevant documents and personally appearing before the Council and/or its investigators. 

Applicant Signature: _______________________________________________  Date: ____________ 

State of __________________________  County of _________________________ 

Sworn and subscribed to before me this ____________________ day of _____________________________, 2____. 

  Signature of Notary Public: _________________________________________________  
SEAL    

My commission expires: ___________ 
 
 
 
APPLICATIONS THAT ARE UNSIGNED, NOT NOTARIZED, INCOMPLETE OR SUBMITTED WITHOUT THE 

REQUIRED PROCESSING FEE WILL BE REJECTED. 
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