
 INFORMATIONAL SUPPLEMENT TO REGULATION 
 

The Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) established under the Financial Institutions Reform, Recover, 
and Enforcement Act (FIRREA) supports the activities of its Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) 
and Appraisal Standards Board (ASB).  The ASC recognizes State-licensed appraiser, State-
certified appraiser, and Trainee real property appraiser designations and the qualifications 
established by the AQB.   The State of Delaware had adopted by reference the qualifications 
established under FIRREA and by the AQB of the Appraisal Foundation along with any subsequent 
amendments.  24 Del. C.§2936. 
 
AQB Appraiser Qualifications as of January 1, 2008, for more information click here. 
 
1.  Certified General Real Property Appraiser - applies to the appraisal of all types of real property 

 
• Education -300 cumulative classroom hours which shall include 15 classroom hours of 

USPAP (prerequisite for taking examination)* see last page below 
• Experience - 3000 hours of appraisal experience over at least 30 months 
• Examination – AQB-endorsed Uniform State Certified General Real Property Appraiser 

Examination or its equivalent 
• Continuing education - 28 hours during a 2-year licensure cycle *See additional 

information below 
 
2.  Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser - applies to the appraisal of one to four residential 
units without regard to transaction value or complexity 
 

• Education - 200 cumulative classroom hours which shall include 15 classroom hours of 
USPAP (prerequisite for taking examination)* see last page below  

• Experience - 2500 hours of appraisal experience over at least 24 months 
• Examination – AQB-endorsed Uniform State Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser 

Examination or its equivalent 
• Continuing education - 28 hours during a 2-year licensure cycle *See additional 

information below 
 
3.  Licensed Real Property Appraiser - applies to the appraisal of non-complex one to four 
residential units having a transaction value less than $1,000,000 and complex one to four residential 
units having a transaction value less that $250,000 
 

• Education - 150 cumulative classroom hours which shall include 15 classroom hours of 
USPAP (prerequisite for taking examination)* see last page below  

• Examination – AQB-endorsed Uniform State Licensed Real Property Appraiser 
Examination or its equivalent 

• Experience - 2000 hours of appraisal experience over at least 24 months 
• Continuing education - 28 hours during a 2-year licensure cycle *See additional 

information below     
 
4.  Real Property Appraiser Trainee 
 

• Education - 75 classroom hours including 15 hours of USPAP 



• Examination - none 
• Experience - none 
• Continuing education - 28 hours during a 2-year licensure cycle  *See additional 

information below 
• Under the supervision of a Delaware-certified or licensed real property appraiser. 

 
*Additional Continuing Education Requirement Details  
 
As a prerequisite to renewal, all licensees and certificate holders must complete the 7-hour 
National USPAP Update Course and a minimum 3-hour course on Delaware Law, Rules and 
Regulations.    
 
Beginning November 1, 2009, and thereafter, at least 14 hours per licensure period must 
be taken in a traditional classroom setting, with an instructor.  

No continuing education is required for fewer than 6 months of licensure. 

Effective with the licensure period beginning November 1, 2007, fourteen (14) hours of 
continuing education are required after at least 6 months but fewer than 24 months of 
licensure and twenty-eight (28) hours of continuing education are required after 24 
months of licensure. 

Courses must be approved by the Council to qualify as continuing education. Either the 
provider or the appraiser must apply to the Council for approval using a form approved 
by the Council. Applicants seeking pre-approval must submit all required documentation 
60 days before the scheduled offering. 
 
The AQB-Certified USPAP Instructor Recertification Course meets the requirement of the 7-
hour National USPAP Update Course. 
 

While this Informational Supplement is regularly updated, you can obtain the most current and 
complete information relating to the qualifications and interpretations from the Appraisal 
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation at 1029 Vermont Ave., NW Suite 900, 

Washington, DC 20005-3517 or at its web site www.appraisal foundation.org. 



 
IMPORTANT CHANGES TO APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS  
 
On February 20, 2004, the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation adopted 
changes to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria that will become effective on January 1, 
2008. These changes represent the minimum national requirements that each state must implement 
for individuals applying for a real estate appraiser license or certification as of January 1, 2008. The 
changes include increased required education, which is summarized as follows:  
 

Category  1/1/08 Requirements1, 2  1/1/08 College-Level Course Requirements3  

Licensed  150 hours  None  

Certified Residential  200 hours  Associate degree or higher. In lieu of the 
required degree, Twenty-one (21) semester 
credit hours covering the following subject matter 
courses: English Composition; Principles of 
Economics (Micro or Macro); Finance; Algebra, 
Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; 
Computer Science; and Business or Real Estate 
Law.  

Certified General  300 hours  Bachelors degree or higher. In lieu of the 
required degree Thirty (30) semester credit hours 
covering the following subject matter courses: 
English Composition; Micro Economics; Macro 
Economics; Finance; Algebra, Geometry or 
higher mathematics; Statistics; Computer 
Science; Business or Real Estate Law; and two 
(2) elective courses in accounting, geography; 
agricultural economics; business management; 
or real estate.  

1 Hours required include completion of the 15-hour National USPAP Course (or its equivalent). 
 
2 Hours required include specific core curriculum courses and hours – please see the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria for 
details.  
 
3 College-level courses and degrees must be obtained from an accredited college or university.  

 
 


