Delaware.gov logo
Division of
Professional Regulation

Licensed or Certified Appraiser Licensure by Examination



When to Apply by Examination

File the Application for Licensed or Certified Appraiser by Examination when you meet all of the following conditions:

  • You do not hold current real property appraiser (RPA) licensure/certification in the classification you want in any jurisdiction (state, U.S. territory or District of Columbia),  or you hold current Delaware real property appraiser  licensure/certification and want to upgrade to a higher classification.
  • You have completed all required qualifying education (QE) hours and attained the required degree for the RPA classification for which you are applying.
  • You have completed all required hours of experience for the RPA classification for which you are applying.

If you hold current RPA licensure/certification in another jurisdiction and the classification is the same as you want in Delaware, apply by reciprocity.

 

Required Degree and Qualifying Education Hours

Before you apply, you must earn the required degree and complete the required QE hours. The degree and QE hours you need depend on the RPA classification you are seeking.

Degree: The degree requirement is the same whether you are submitting your initial application or an upgrade application, as follows:

  • Licensed RPA Associate degree or higher in any field
  • Certified Residential RPA Bachelor degree or higher in any field
  • Certified General RPA Bachelor degree or higher in any field

QE Hours: You earn QE hours only from courses required by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) in its core curriculum. For information on the core curriculum, see Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria.

  • If you intend to file an initial application, you must complete the following QE hours:
    • Licensed RPA – 150 QE hours
    • Certified Residential RPA – 200 QE hours
    • Certified General RPA – 300 QE hours
  • If you intend to file an upgrade application (that is, you are already a Trainee, Licensed or Certified RPA and you are seeking a higher level license), you must complete the following additional QE hours:
IF you are at currently at this level: THEN you need these QE hours to upgrade to…

Licensed RPA

Certified Residential RPA

Certified General RPA

Trainee

75

125

225

Licensed RPA

50

150

Certified Residential RPA

100

 

Requirements Before Examination

You must complete all QE and experience before you can sit for the AQB-approved National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination.

  • Enclose the non-refundable processing fee or upgrade fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware.”
    • If you are applying to upgrade a Delaware license and have already paid the renewal fee for the current license period, pay only the upgrade fee.
    • If you are not upgrading or if you have not paid for the current license period, pay the processing fee.
  • If you are a Trainee applying for upgrade, submit the Federal Registry fee by check or money order payable to the “State of Delaware.”
    • If your license is approved between July 1 of odd years and October 31 of even years, the fee is $80.
    • If your license is approved between November 1 of even years and June 30 of odd years, the fee is $40.
    • The Federal Registry fee is in addition to the processing fee.
  • Complete the Criminal History Record Check Authorization form to request State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal background checks. Follow the instructions on the form to arrange to be fingerprinted.
  • Arrange for the Council office to receive an official transcript, sent directly from your college/university to the Council office.
  • Submit copies of your QE certificates.
    • Each course must consist of at least 15 classroom hours and include an examination.
    • At least 15 hours must be the required USPAP course.
    • If you are applying to upgrade your current classification, credit for continuing education does not count as QE.
  • If you have ever been licensed or certified as an appraiser in another jurisdiction, arrange for the Council office to receive a letter of good standing directly from each jurisdiction where you have ever been an RPA trainee or held RPA certification/licensure.
  • Submit a photocopy of your Experience Log, on 8 ½” x 11” paper, in the format approved by the Council.  The Log must show that you meet these requirements:
IF you are applying for… THEN you are permitted to appraise… AND you need these hours of experience… AND the appraisals must span at least…
Certified General RPA all types of real property 3000 hours,1500 of which must be non-residential 30 months since the first appraisal.
Certified Residential RPA vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for 1-4 family purposes or for which the highest and best use is for 1-4 family purposes 2500 hours 24 months since the first appraisal.
Licensed RPA non-complex one to four residential units with a transaction value of less than $1 million and complex one to four residential units with a transaction value of less than $250,000 2000 hours 24 months since the first appraisal.

 

Requirements After Examination

When the application is considered complete, the Council will review it at its next meeting. If approved, the Council office will send you an authorization to sit for the exam.  After you take the exam, the exam service will send the Council your score report.  At that point, you must submit sample appraisal reports.  The Council will notify you as the number of samples to submit.

  • Submit samples of appraisal reports you have completed. Samples are due to the Council office within 15 days of the request.

Related Topics:  , , , , ,


+