Information About Renewal Applications
Appraiser licenses and certificates, Certified Assessor licenses and appraisal management company registrations expire on October 31 of odd years (e.g., 2015, 2017).
Several weeks before the expiration date, a renewal notice will be mailed to the address on the record. This notice will explain how to access the online renewal application. To complete the online renewal application, you must use a credit card to pay your renewal fee.
Renewing a License/Certificate
To renew a license/certificate, you submit a renewal application, pay the renewal fee and attest to completing the required continuing education (CE). The CE must include the seven-hour National USPAP Update Course or its equivalent and three hours on Delaware law, rules and regulations. You must complete half of the required hours in a traditional classroom setting.
After the renewal, a percentage of licensees and certificate holders will be randomly selected for audit of their CE.
For more information on CE requirements, see the following sections of the Council's Rules and Regulations:
- Appraisers - Sections 2.3 – 2.5
- Certified Assessors - Sections 10.7 - 10.8
Please keep your contact information in our records up-to-date so that notices we send will reach you. To check and update your contact information online, click Change Contact Information.
Renewing an Appraisal Management Company Registration
Please keep the contact information for the controlling person up-to-date so that notices we send will reach the business.
- If a new controlling person is named, the new controlling person must submit a Certificate of Individual form to the Council office and arrange for the Council office to receive State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal background checks.
- If the controlling person remains the same but his/her contact information changes, send updates to the Council office in writing.
See 24 Del. C. §4029 for more information on renewal.
Renewing an Expired License/Certificate/Registration
If you do not complete renewal before the expiration date, your license/certificate/registration will expire. It is illegal to practice as an appraiser or assessor while your license/certificate is expired. It is also illegal to operate an Appraisal Management Company in Delaware while its registration is expired.
You may file a late renewal application up to 60 days after its expiration date. You must pay a late fee in addition to the renewal fee. Even though you can file a late renewal application, it is illegal to perform appraisals until the active license/certificate is actually renewed. The late period is not a "grace period."
If you fail to renew by the end of the 60-day period, your license/certificate/registration will terminate. After termination, you must reapply if you wish to resume practicing or to resume operating an Appraisal Management Company in Delaware. See Section 2.2.3 of the Council’s Rules and Regulations.
Requesting Inactive Status/Reactivating
If you hold a license or certicate as an appraiser but you are not practicing in Delaware, you may request inactive status. To place your license/certificate in Inactive status, submit a written request to the Council. You are not permitted to perform appraisals in Delaware while your license/certificate is in inactive status. You may maintain your license/certificate in inactive status indefinitely provided you renew it as explained in Renewing a License/Certificate above. This includes completing the required CE during each two-year renewal period.
To resume performing appraisals in Delaware, you must reactivate your license/certificate. To request reactivation, notify the Council in writing. See Section 184.108.40.206 of the Rules and Regulations.
Inactive status is not available to Certified Assessors.