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APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED VETERINARY TECHNICIAN LICENSE 
OR 

REQUEST FOR REACTIVATION OF INACTIVE VETERINARY TECHNICIAN LICENSE  
INSTRUCTION SHEET 

General Information 

The Application for Reinstatement of Lapsed Veterinary Technician License is a dual purpose form.  It is required to 
reinstate a lapsed license but may also be used to request reactivation of an inactive license. 

• When a Veterinary Technician license has been lapsed for one or more years, you can no longer renew it.  
Instead, you must apply to reinstate it before you can resume practicing veterinary medicine in Delaware.  Use this 
application form when your former Delaware Veterinary Technician license is in Lapsed-Must Reinstate status. 
See the section on Requirements for Reinstatement Applications below. 

• If your Veterinary Technician license is in Inactive status, you must file a request to reactivate it before you can 
resume practicing veterinary medicine in Delaware.  You may use this form to request reactivation. See the 
section on Requirements for Reactivation Requests below. 

• To find out your license’s status, you can look it up online at Verify License Online.  Do not resume practicing in 
Delaware until your license is back in Active status. 

Requirements for Reinstatement Applications 

The following items are required if you are applying to reinstate a license that is in Lapsed-Must Reinstate status.  

  Submit a signed, completed and notarized Application for Reinstatement of Lapsed Veterinary Technician License.  

  Enclose the non-refundable reinstatement fee by check or money order made payable to "State of Delaware."  

  If you have ever held a Veterinary Technician license in another jurisdiction (state, U.S. territory or District of 
Columbia), arrange for the Board office to receive a verification of licensure from each jurisdiction where you have 
ever held a license, sent directly from the jurisdiction to the Board office.  

  Submit proof that you have completed the required continuing education (CE) as follows: 

IF your Delaware Veterinary 
Technician license has been 
lapsed for… 

THEN submit proof that you have completed this 
amount of CE: 

12 to 24 months 12 hours completed within two years before filing 
this application for reinstatement 

over 24 months 18 hours completed within four years before filing 
this application for reinstatement 

• See Sections 14.4 through 14.7 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations for information on acceptable CE. 
• To find out when your license lapsed, look it up online at Verify License Online. 
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  If you have never been issued a U.S. Social Security Number (SSN), submit a Request for Exemption from Social 
Security Number Requirement. 
The Privacy Act of 1974, Section 7, requires the following information to be given to all applicants:  Applicants for any Delaware 
professional or occupational license, permit, registration or certificate (other than Gaming permits) are required to provide a U.S. 
SSN (29 Del. C. §8735(m)).  The Division of Professional Regulation uses the SSN primarily to verify identity and safeguard 
personal information.  It may also be used to enforce child support obligation (13 Del. C. §2216) and for other lawful purposes.  

Requirements for Reactivation Requests 

The following items are required if you are applying to reactivate a license in Inactive status. 

  Submit a signed, completed and notarized Request for Reactivation of Inactive Veterinary Technician License.  

   Submit proof that you have completed 12 hours of acceptable continuing education (CE) within the two years before filing 
this request for reactivation. 
• See Sections 14.4 through 14.7 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations for information on acceptable CE. 

  If you have never been issued a U.S. Social Security Number (SSN), submit a Request for Exemption from Social 
Security Number Requirement. 
The Privacy Act of 1974, Section 7, requires the following information to be given to all applicants:  Applicants for any Delaware 
professional or occupational license, permit, registration or certificate (other than Gaming permits) are required to provide a U.S. 
SSN (29 Del. C. §8735(m)).  The Division of Professional Regulation uses the SSN primarily to verify identity and safeguard 
personal information.  It may also be used to enforce child support obligation (13 Del. C. §2216) and for other lawful purposes.  

 

http://dpr.delaware.gov/documents/Request_Exemption_SSN_Req.pdf
http://dpr.delaware.gov/documents/Request_Exemption_SSN_Req.pdf
http://www.dpr.delaware.gov/boards/veterinarymedicine/forms.shtml
http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/3300.shtml
http://dpr.delaware.gov/documents/Request_Exemption_SSN_Req.pdf
http://dpr.delaware.gov/documents/Request_Exemption_SSN_Req.pdf
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APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED VETERINARY TECHNICIAN LICENSE 
OR 

REQUEST FOR REACTIVATION OF INACTIVE VETERINARY TECHNICIAN LICENSE 

TYPE OF REQUEST 

1. Check why you are filing this form (check one): 

  Reinstatement – I am applying to reinstate my lapsed Delaware license, license number N2 - ________________  

  Reactivation – I am requesting to change my inactive Delaware license, license number N2 - ________________ 
to Active status. 

IDENTIFYING AND CONTACT INFORMATION – All applicants complete this section. 

2. Full Name:  _______________________________ __________________________________ __________________ 
   Last/Family     First     Middle    

3. Other Names Used:   None ______________________  _______________________ _____________________ 

4. Date of Birth (month/day/year): ___________________   Gender:     Male     Female 

5. Have you been issued a U.S. Social Security Number?  Yes    No   If yes, enter your SSN:  _________________ 
If no, you must file a Request for Exemption from Social Security Number Requirement. 

6. Mailing Address:  ________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________ ____________________________ _____________ 
      City      State       Zip 

7. Phone: _______________ ________________ Email:   None __________________________________________ 
       daytime     evening or cell 

LICENSURE/PRACTICE – Only applicants for reinstatement complete this section.  

8. Have you ever held a license to practice veterinary medicine in another jurisdiction? Yes  No   If yes, list each 
jurisdiction where you have held a license. If you need more room, enclose a separate sheet. 

JURISDICTION LICENSE NUMBER IS THIS LICENSE CURRENT? 
  Yes   No  
  Yes   No  
  Yes   No  

Arrange for the Board office to receive a license verification sent directly to the Board office from each jurisdiction where 
you have ever held a Veterinary Technician license. 

CONTINUING EDUCATION – All applicants complete this section. 

9. Have you completed the required continuing education for reinstatement/reactivation of your license?  Yes  No  

Submit proof that you have completed the required continuing education (CE) as follows: 
• If you are reinstating and your license has been lapsed 12 to 24 months, submit proof of 12 hours of CE completed 

within two years before filing this application. 
• If you are reinstating and your license has been lapsed over 24 months, submit proof of 18 hours of CE completed 

within four years before filing this application.  
• If you are reactivating, submit proof of 12 hours of CE completed within two years before filing this request. 
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DISCLOSURES – All applicants complete this section. 

10. Have you ever been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) to any felony, 
misdemeanor or any other criminal offense, including any offense for which you have received a pardon, in any 
jurisdiction?  Yes    No   If yes, submit a complete explanation and a certified copy of your criminal history 
record from any jurisdiction in which you have been convicted or pardoned.  For information on obtaining a 
Delaware criminal history record, see State Bureau of Identification.   

11. Are any criminal charges pending against you? Yes  No   If yes, arrange for the appropriate authorities to 
provide information about the charge directly to the Board.  The information should be specific enough to 
enable the Board to determine whether the charge is substantially related to the practice of veterinary 
medicine. 

12. Have you received any administrative penalties, including but not limited to fines, formal reprimands, license 
suspension or revocation, and probationary limitations? Yes  No   If yes, arrange for the jurisdictions to send 
information about the disciplinary action directly to the Board office.  

13. Have you entered into a consent agreement that places conditions on your professional conduct or practice, including 
any voluntary surrender of license? Yes  No   If yes, arrange for the jurisdictions to send information about 
the disciplinary action directly to the Board office.  

14. Are any disciplinary proceedings or unresolved complaints concerning your practice of veterinary medicine pending 
against you at present? Yes  No   If yes, arrange for the jurisdictions to send information about the 
disciplinary action directly to the Board office.  

15. Have your Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) privileges ever been restricted or revoked?  Yes  No   If yes, 
submit a letter explaining fully. Include copies of all appropriate records. 

16. Do you have any impairment related to drugs or alcohol that would limit your ability to undertake the practice of 
veterinary medicine in a manner consistent with the safety of a patient or the public? Yes  No   If yes, submit a 
letter explaining fully. Include copies of all appropriate records. 

If your application requires Board review, the Board office must receive all of these items no later than 4:30 
PM ten full working days before the Board’s meeting date: 
• Completed, signed and notarized application form 
• Fee payment 
• All required supporting documentation. 

Applications that are not complete within 12 months of filing may be considered abandoned and discarded.  
When your application is complete, please allow 4-6 weeks to receive your license.  

AFFIDAVIT 

I certify that the information in this application is complete and true. I understand that the intentional inclusion of false or 
fraudulent information in this application, or the material omission of information which might have a bearing on licensure, 
may result in the denial of licensure and will be reported to the Attorney General for further action. 

Signature of Applicant: ________________________________________________  Date: _____________________ 

 City of _________________________________  County of ________________________________________________ 

Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence this _________________ day of _______________, 2______ 

Notary Signature: ________________________________________________ 
SEAL 

My commission expires: __________________ 

APPLICATIONS THAT ARE UNSIGNED, NOT NOTARIZED, INCOMPLETE OR NOT ACCOMPANIED BY THE 
REQUIRED FEE WILL BE REJECTED. 

http://dsp.delaware.gov/state_bureau_of_identification.shtml
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