Delaware.gov logo
Division of
Professional Regulation

Instant or Sealed Games



Who Can Apply for an Instant or Sealed Games Permit

Volunteer fire companies, veterans organizations, religious or charitable organizations, and fraternal societies that have been in existence at least two years may apply for an Instant or Sealed Games permit, provided:

  • net profits from instant or sealed games are used solely for the achievement of the organization’s purposes as described in its by-laws
  • at the time of application, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) recognizes the organization as a charitable organization as described in Section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code.

You must receive your Instant or Sealed Games permit before advertising or selling instant or sealed games.

 

Applying for an Instant or Sealed Games Permit (First-Time Applicants)

  • Enclose with your application and fee, documentation from the IRS dated within the past 12 months, showing proof of the following:
    • organization’s legal name
    • physical Delaware address
    • EIN or Federal ID Number
    • 501(c) IRS Determination

    These items may be included on one or separate documents from the IRS, but all documents must be dated within the past 12 months.

  • Enclose a copy of your organization’s formation documents, such as Articles of Incorporation, By-Laws, Constitution, Charter, etc. The documentation submitted must include your organization’s purpose and/or mission statement.
  • Enclose a letter on your organization’s letterhead designating a Member-In-Charge of Instant or Sealed Games. The letter must grant the Member-In-Charge the authority to submit Instant or Sealed Games applications on behalf of the organization, and to be responsible for all permitted Instant or Sealed Games. The letter must be signed by an officer of the organization, dated and notarized.

 

Applying for an Instant or Sealed Games Permit (All Applicants)

  • Enclose the non-refundable processing processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware.”
  • If you are relying on a group exemption letter issued to a national or parent organization, enclose the following:
    • signed letter from the national or parent organization on its letterhead, specifically stating that your chapter is properly affiliated, and
    • current copy of the parent organization’s IRS group exemption letter dated within the past 12 months
  • If the proposed instant or sealed game will be held at any location other than the organization’s physical Delaware address, enclose:
    • letter from the premises owner (on owner’s letterhead) allowing your organization to hold its games, or
    • copy of your lease or rental agreement.

    The Board reserves the right to accept or reject any application for the conduct of a function on specially leased or donated premises.

  • If the Member-In-Charge has changed since your last application, enclose a notarized letter on your organization’s letterhead designating a new Member-In-Charge. The letter must grant the Member-In-Charge the authority to submit Instant or Sealed Games applications on behalf of the organization, and to be responsible for all permitted Instant or Sealed Games. An officer of the organization must sign and date the letter.

 

Application Review Process

The Board will review only applications that meet all of the following requirements:

  • The application form must be complete, signed and notarized. As forms are subject to change at any time, be sure to use the current form from the Board’s website each time you apply for a gaming permit. Obsolete forms will be rejected.
  • In order to be added to the Board’s agenda for the next scheduled meeting, the Board office must receive applications no later than 10 business days before the meeting.
  • The correct fee must accompany the application. Applications without fees will be rejected.
  • Applications must include all supporting documentation as listed above.

 

Renewing an Instant or Sealed Games Permits

Instant or Sealed Games permits expire on June 30 of each year. See Fee Schedule.

Several weeks before your permit expiration date, a renewal notice will be mailed to you. This notice will explain how to access the online renewal application. To complete the renewal application, you must use a debit or credit card to pay your renewal fee.

If you do not complete renewal before the expiration date, your permit will lapse. You are not permitted to sell instant or sealed game tickets while the permit is lapsed. You may file a late renewal application through August 31. Even though you can file a late renewal application, it is illegal to sell tickets until the permit is actually renewed. The late period is not a “grace period.” If you fail to renew by the end of the late period, your permit will terminate. After termination, you must reapply if you wish to resume selling instant or sealed game tickets in Delaware.


Related Topics:  , , ,


+