Who Can Apply for a Texas Hold’em Tournament Permit
Volunteer fire companies, veterans organizations, religious or charitable organizations, and fraternal societies that have been in existence a minimum of two years may apply for a Texas Hold’em Tournament permit, provided:
- The net profits from permitted tournaments are used solely for the achievement of the purposes of the organization as described in the organization’s by-laws.
- At the time of application, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) recognizes the organization as a charitable organization as described in Section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code.
You must receive your Texas Hold’Em Tournament permit before advertising or holding the tournament.
Limitations on Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournaments
- Organizations are allowed to conduct five Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournaments per calendar year, with each tournament held at least 70 days apart.
- Tournaments are limited to six consecutive hours.
- Tournaments shall not commence prior to 1:30 p.m. and must conclude by 1:00 a.m.
- No person under 21 years of age may be present at or participate in a Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournament.
- Only a member of your charitable organization may handle funds during the tournament.
- Dealers must be licensed by the Board, and may not play, bet or otherwise wager on a game.
- All wagers must be made with approved tournament chips provided by the sponsoring organization or third party vendor.
- The value of any individual prize offered must not exceed $5,000.
- The total value of all prizes offered during the tournament must not exceed $13,000.
Applying for a Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournament Permit (First-Time Applicants)
- Enclose a copy of your organization’s formation documents, such as articles of incorporation, by-laws, constitution, charter, etc. The documentation submitted must include your organization’s purpose and/or mission statement.
- Enclose a letter on your organization’s letterhead designating up to five Members-In-Charge of the Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournament. The letter must grant the Member-In-Charge the authority to submit Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournament applications on behalf of the organization, and to be responsible for all permitted Texas Hold’Em events. The letter must be signed by an officer of the organization and dated.
Applying for a Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournament Permit (All Applicants)
- Submit a completed, signed and notarized Application for Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournament(All Applicants)
- Enclose non-refundable processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware.”
- If you are relying on a group exemption letter issued to a national or parent organization, enclose the following:
- signed letter from the national or parent organization on its letterhead, specifically stating that your chapter is properly affiliated, and
- current copy of the parent organization’s IRS group exemption letter dated within the past 12 months.
- Enclose a copy of the House Rules to be followed during the tournament.
- If more than three dealers will be working at your tournament, enclose a separate sheet listing the names and Delaware Texas Hold’Em Individual License numbers of each dealer.
- If a Member-In-Charge has changed since your last Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournament application, enclose a letter on your organization’s letterhead designating the new Member(s)-In-Charge. The letter must grant the Member(s)-In-Charge authority to submit Texas Hold’Em Poker Tournament applications on behalf of the organization and to be responsible for all permitted Texas Hold’Em events. The letter must be signed by an officer of the organization and dated.
Application Review Process
The Board will review only applications that meet all of the following requirements:
- The application form must be complete, signed and notarized. As forms are subject to change at any time, be sure to use the current form from the Board’s website each time you apply for a gaming permit. Obsolete forms will be rejected.
- In order to be on the agenda for the Board’s next scheduled meeting, the Board office msut receive applications no later than 10 business days before the next meeting.
- The correct fee must accompany the application. Applications without fees will be rejected.
- Applications must include all supporting documentation as listed on the Instruction Sheet.
- Your organization’s After Occasion Reports (AORs) must be up-to-date. AORs are due no later than 30 days after a gaming event. If your organization’s AORs for past events are overdue, the Board will not review your application for any future event.
If your proposed tournament date passes before the Board reviews and approves your application, you are not permitted to hold your event and you will forfeit the non-refundable processing fee.
You are not permitted to submit an alternate tournament date to be inserted into your application if your proposed date passes before the Board reviews and approves it. You must submit a new application and processing fee for the alternate date.