Expiration dates for renewable licenses expiring on 8/31/20 have been extended until 9/30/20. If you are unable to reach us by phone, submit your inquiry via email at customerservice.dpr@delaware.gov. Please read the important COVID-19 information from the Division of Professional Regulation. More Info

Delaware.gov logo
Division of
Professional Regulation

Manufactured Home Installer – Original Licensure



When to Apply

Follow the instructions below to apply for an original license as a Manufactured Home Installer.

If you hold a current license as a manufactured home installer in another jurisdiction (state, U.S. territory, District of Columbia), see Manufactured Home Installer Licensure by Reciprocity. For more details on when and when not to file, see section 1.0 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.


Certification Course

To qualify for a license, you must successfully complete a 12-hour Board-approved certification course. See Manufactured Home Installation Online Training.


Information on How to Apply for a License in DELPROS

Applications are processed in DELPROS (Delaware Professional Regulation Online Services). The online license application process is simple and provides you with clear instructions throughout each stage of the application process. We strongly recommend that you understand what the requirements are for the license you are pursuing. Then, request and gather the documents you need before you begin the application process. Most of the information and forms are on this website. For further clarification of requirements, refer to your profession’s License Law and the Rules and Regulations.

In order to apply for a license or service request, you must have a DELPROS account. To create a new account or log into an existing DELPROS account, follow the instructions at the beginning of the application process. As part of the final steps of the application process, DELPROS instructs you to either “attach” or “upload” the required documents directly to your application and/or to “acknowledge” that you will either send them in yourself or make arrangements for “third-party” documents/forms to be sent to the Board office. Examples of “third-party forms” are transcripts from schools, employment verifications from a supervisor, and license verifications from another state. These forms usually require a signature, seal, or notary, therefore, must be mailed into the Board office directly. All documents received by mail are scanned and attached to the appropriate license records.

In DELPROS, you have the ability to save your application and return to it to edit/update information or upload documents for up to six months. However, if you do not submit your application within six months, you will have to restart your online application process. The Board office begins processing applications shortly after submission in the portal. You may check the status of your application in the DELPROS system throughout the whole process and we will correspond with you by email. The requirements for this license type are provided in the following section(s).


Requirements

In addition to submitting the application and fee in DELPROS, you must submit:

  • Proof that you are at least 18 years old. Proof can be a copy of your birth certificate, passport, an identification card or driver’s license issued by the State of Delaware .
  • If your name is different on any submitted documents, provide a copy of a legal document showing your name change.
  • Proof from the bond company that you or your employer holds a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit for at least $10,000. Your name must be shown on the bond or letter.
    • Letters of credit must be issued by a federally-insured financial institution.
    • Bonds must show the Division of Professional Regulation as the bond holder.
  • Proof from the liability insurance company that you hold at least $100,000 in liability insurance. Your name must be listed on the documentation.
  • State/Jurisdiction Licensure Verification sent directly to the Board office from each state or jurisdiction in which you currently hold or have ever held a license.

Your application will be reviewed after the Board Office receives your application and all supporting documentation in DELPROS. When you have been approved to take the Board-approved exam, the Board Office will notify you by email. For more information about the exam, see the Examinations webpage and section 5.0 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations .


Reporting Requirements

The person or entity who maintain the surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit or who maintains the liability insurance is responsible for all acts or omissions of the licensed installer and also those supervised by the installer or assisting the installer in the installation of manufactured housing.

As a licensed installer, you must notify the Board in writing, within seven days if any of the following occurs:

  • The surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit changes or is cancelled.
  • The liability insurance changes or is cancelled.

In addition, the employer must notify the Board if he/she terminates the employment of any licensee who is covered by the employer’s liability insurance or by the employer’s surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit.

 


Related Topics:  , , ,


+