When to Apply
To apply for an APRN license, you must:
- Have a Master’s degree or a Post-basic program certificate in a clinical nursing specialty with nursing certification from a national certification body recognized by the Board.
- Meet one of these requirements in the role and population focus for which you are applying:
- Practiced in the specialty of either 600 hours over the past two years or 1,500 hours over the past five years, OR
- Graduated from the specialty program within the past two years.
Information on How to Apply for a License in DELPROS
Applications are processed in DELPROS (Delaware Professional Regulation Online Services). The online license application process is simple and provides you with clear instructions throughout each stage of the application process. We strongly recommend that you understand what the requirements are for the license you are pursuing. Then, request and gather the documents you need before you begin the application process. Most of the information and forms are on this website. For further clarification of requirements, refer to your profession’s License Law and the Rules and Regulations.
In order to apply for a license or service request, you must have a DELPROS account. To create a new account or log into an existing DELPROS account, follow the instructions at the beginning of the application process. As part of the final steps of the application process, DELPROS instructs you to either “attach” or “upload” the required documents directly to your application and/or to “acknowledge” that you will either send them in yourself or make arrangements for “third-party” documents/forms to be sent to the Board office. Examples of “third-party forms” are transcripts from schools, employment verifications from a supervisor, and license verifications from another state. Official license verifications and/or transcripts are acceptable when received electronically directly from the State Board or school/institution. Note that forms requiring a signature, seal, or notary must be MAILED to the Board office directly UNLESS the document specifically indicates to UPLOAD the document. All documents received by mail are scanned and attached to the appropriate license records.
In DELPROS, you have the ability to save your application and return to it to edit/update information or upload documents for up to six months. However, if you do not submit your application within six months, you will have to restart your online application process. The Board office begins processing applications shortly after submission in the portal. You may check the status of your application in the DELPROS system throughout the whole process and we will correspond with you by email. The requirements for this license type are provided in the following section(s).
In addition to submitting the application and fee in DELPROS, you must submit:
- A State of Delaware and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal background check (CBC). Follow the instructions on the Criminal History Record Check Authorization form to arrange to be fingerprinted. Submit both the form and payment to the State Bureau of Identification (SBI). Do not send these forms to the Board office.
- Allow at least four weeks for the SBI to send criminal history records to the Board office.
- A new criminal background check is required even if you recently had a criminal background check done for some other reason besides Delaware Nursing licensure.
- A copy of your driver’s license or official identification card from the Division of Motor Vehicles.
- An official transcript sent from your APRN program to the Board office.
- A copy of your original certification notice or current re-certification card with your application.
- A self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) website at www.npdb.hrsa.gov. The self-query report will be mailed to your address. When you receive the report, submit the original report to the Board office.
Collaborative Agreement Information
- If a collaborative agreement is required, you may submit an application before you have one, but you are not allowed to start practicing in Delaware until your APRN license (or a temporary permit) has been issued and you have a collaborative agreement at each individual business/practice where you will be practicing.
- You are required to have a collaborative agreement(s) only if you have practiced as an APRN less than two years or fewer than 4,000 hours. For example, if you are a new graduate APRN who has practiced almost two years, you must have a collaborative agreement even if you have already attained 4,000 or more hours.
- You must maintain a collaborative agreement until you have practiced as an APRN for at least two years and at least 4,000 hours.
- If you are required to have a collaborative agreement(s) to practice in Delaware, a form for each individual business/practice where you will practice in Delaware. If you do not have a collaborative agreement when you submit your application, you must obtain a collaborator and submit a Report of Collaborative Agreement Change form before you begin to practice as an APRN in Delaware.
- You must have a collaborative agreement at each business/practice where you practice. For example, if you are employed by a hospital and by a primary care practice and you will practice as an APRN at both, you must complete a form for the hospital and a separate form for the primary care practice.
- If a business/practice has multiple Delaware locations where you will practice, you only need to complete one form for the business/practice. You may use the main location of the business/practice as the address. For example, if you work for a primary care practice that has offices in two Delaware towns, complete only one form for the practice.
Temporary Permits, Prescriptive Authority, Controlled Substance Registration, and Independent Practice Information
- As part of the new online licensing portal application process, you will automatically get prescriptive authority for non-controlled substances with your APRN license.
If you hold a Delaware RN license, your APRN license will have the same expiration date and come up for renewal at the same time as your Delaware RN license. However, if you hold an RN license in another compact state, your APRN license will expire on 9/30 of odd years.