RECOMMENDED BROWSERS - The following browsers are recommended when using DELPROS: Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge.
Click HERE for browser download instructions.
**IMPORTANT: For important information about the Social Work Grandfather Provision deadline, see Grandfather Provision**
If you are unable to reach us by phone, submit your inquiry via email at email@example.com. Please read the important COVID-19 information from the Division of Professional Regulation. More Info
What do I have to do to work as a Funeral Director in Delaware?
How do I get a license as a Funeral Director?
Answer: The application and document submission differs according to whether you apply by reciprocity or by resident internship. However, either way, you apply through the DELPROS online portal. It is highly suggested that you first review the licensure requirements on our website: Funeral Director by reciprocity and Funeral Director by resident internship to determine what steps you have to take and what documents you must submit in order to get licensed.
What examinations do I have to take?
Answer: Applicants by resident internship must pass the National Board Examination. See www.cfseb.org for information on this exam. All applicants, regardless of how you are applying, must pass the Delaware Law, Rules and Regulations Examination. See Examinations.
What are the fees to get a license?
Answer: See Fee Schedule.
How long will it take to get a license by reciprocity?
Answer: With the DELPROS online portal, the application process is very efficient. However, the amount of time it takes varies based on how quickly you submit the application and provide all supporting documents in order for it to be considered “complete”. When the application is complete, it is reviewed for approval on or before the next Board meeting. The meeting schedule is available on the State of Delaware public meeting calendar. When the Board approves your application, you will be contacted about scheduling the Law, Rules and Regulations Examination. If you pass the exam, the Board office will issue your license.
Can I begin my resident internship before I finish mortuary school?
Answer: No. Before beginning your resident internship, you must receive an associates degree in mortuary science or its equivalent. In the case of the degree, the Board office must receive a final transcript showing the date your degree was conferred before you begin the internship. Time spent working in funeral establishments, as a student, does not count toward your internship.
How long does it take to get a license by resident internship?
Answer: See Resident Intern Registration for a complete explanation of the internship process.
Can I get a temporary license?
What is the continuing education requirement for a funeral director?
Answer: You are required to complete 10 hours of approved continuing education to renew your license every two years. However, you are exempt for the first renewal after becoming licensed in Delaware. If you completes more than 10 hours, you may carry over up to five hours for the next renewal. For complete information about the continuing education requirements, see Section 9.0 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations. For even more details on the CE and audit requirements see the Continuing Education and Audit Information webpage.
Am I required to complete continuing education if I am 65 years old or older?
What do I do if I am applying by reciprocity from a state that issues separate licenses for embalmers and funeral directors?
Answer: You must hold both an embalmer license and a funeral director license in that state. Submit letters of good standing for both licenses, sent directly from the state to the Board office.