RECOMMENDED BROWSERS - The following browsers are recommended when using DELPROS: Chrome, Safari, Firefox, or Edge.
Click HERE for browser download instructions.
If you are unable to reach us by phone, submit your inquiry via email at email@example.com. Please read the important COVID-19 information from the Division of Professional Regulation. More Info
Prescriptive Authority enables you to prescribe medication under the supervision of a licensed physician in Delaware. You may apply during your application process or later.
Applications are processed in DELPROS (Delaware Professional Regulation Online Services). The online license application process is simple and provides you with clear instructions throughout each stage of the application process. We strongly recommend that you understand what the requirements are for the license you are pursuing. Then, request and gather the documents you need before you begin the application process. Most of the information and forms are on this website. For further clarification of requirements, refer to your profession’s License Law and the Rules and Regulations.
In order to apply for a license or service request, you must have a DELPROS account. To create a new account or log into an existing DELPROS account, follow the instructions at the beginning of the application process. As part of the final steps of the application process, DELPROS instructs you to either “attach” or “upload” the required documents directly to your application and/or to “acknowledge” that you will either send them in yourself or make arrangements for “third-party” documents/forms to be sent to the Board office. Examples of “third-party forms” are transcripts from schools, employment verifications from a supervisor, and license verifications from another state. Official license verifications and/or transcripts are acceptable when received electronically directly from the State Board or school/institution. Note that forms requiring a signature, seal, or notary must be MAILED to the Board office directly UNLESS the document specifically indicates to UPLOAD the document. All documents received by mail are scanned and attached to the appropriate license records.
In DELPROS, you have the ability to save your application and return to it to edit/update information or upload documents for up to six months. However, if you do not submit your application within six months, you will have to restart your online application process. The Board office begins processing applications shortly after submission in the portal. You may check the status of your application in the DELPROS system throughout the whole process and we will correspond with you by email. The requirements for this license type are provided in the following section(s).
In addition to submitting the application and fee in DELPROS, you must submit:
Delaware accepts the Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) of the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB). For more information, see http://www.fsmb.org/licensure/fcvs/.
In addition to submitting the application, fee, and supporting documentation required in the previous section, in DELPROS, you must also submit:
In addition to submitting the application, fee, and supporting documentation required in the Requirements for All Applicants section, in DELPROS, you must also submit:
Submit proof of 100 hours of continuing medical education (CME) when…
The CME must consist of 50 hours of AMA Category I CME (Section 13.2.2 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations).
The temporary permit allows you to practice until you have passed the Physician Assistant National Certifying Examination (PANCE) and your permanent license is issued. You may be granted a temporary license if you have:
The temporary license remains valid until the examination results are available. If you fail the PANCE, the temporary license immediately becomes null and void and you must cease practicing as a PA.
If you receive prescriptive authority, you may prescribe only non-controlled substances. To prescribe controlled substances in Delaware, you must have:
If you practice at more than one business/practice, you need only a single CSR to prescribe at all of the locations. However, every Delaware location where controlled substances are dispensed/stored must be covered by a CSR. If no other practitioner (i.e., physician, PA or APRN) holds a Delaware CSR for a location where you will store/dispense, as well as prescribe, controlled substances, you must submit an additional CSR application for the location.
To apply for a CSR(s), see Controlled Substances Registration – Physician Assistants. For Federal DEA registration, see DEA New Registration Applications.