Expiration dates for renewable licenses expiring on 8/31/20 have been extended until 9/30/20. If you are unable to reach us by phone, submit your inquiry via email at email@example.com. Please read the important COVID-19 information from the Division of Professional Regulation. More Info
How you apply for a Pharmacist license depends on:
You should apply by Examination if you:
You should apply by Score Transfer if you:
If neither of the above situations applies to you, you must apply by Licensure Transfer (Reciprocity).
Whether you are applying by Examination or Score Transfer, you must complete 1,500 hours of Board-approved pre-licensure experience before you can be considered for licensure as a Pharmacist. If you have not completed all 1,500 hours and you wish to attain any remaining hours while working in Delaware, you must submit an Intern Registration application instead of this application. You need a permit to work as a Pharmacist Intern in a Delaware Pharmacy.
Applications are processed in DELPROS (Delaware Professional Regulation Online Services). The online license application process is simple and provides you with clear instructions throughout each stage of the application process. We strongly recommend that you understand what the requirements are for the license you are pursuing. Then, request and gather the documents you need before you begin the application process. Most of the information and forms are on this website. For further clarification of requirements, refer to your profession’s License Law and the Rules and Regulations.
In order to apply for a license or service request, you must have a DELPROS account. To create a new account or log into an existing DELPROS account, follow the instructions at the beginning of the application process. As part of the final steps of the application process, DELPROS instructs you to either “attach” or “upload” the required documents directly to your application and/or to “acknowledge” that you will either send them in yourself or make arrangements for “third-party” documents/forms to be sent to the Board office. Examples of “third-party forms” are transcripts from schools, employment verifications from a supervisor, and license verifications from another state. These forms usually require a signature, seal, or notary, therefore, must be mailed into the Board office directly. All documents received by mail are scanned and attached to the appropriate license records.
In DELPROS, you have the ability to save your application and return to it to edit/update information or upload documents for up to six months. However, if you do not submit your application within six months, you will have to restart your online application process. The Board office begins processing applications shortly after submission in the portal. You may check the status of your application in the DELPROS system throughout the whole process and we will correspond with you by email. The requirements for this license type are provided in the following section(s).
The following are required for all applications, regardless of whether you are applying by Examination or Score Transfer. In addition to submitting the application and fee in DELPROS, you must submit:
You must register with NABP to take the Multi-State Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE) and, if you have not already passed it, the NAPLEX. To register, go to www.nabp.pharmacy. You should register with NABP at the same time you submit this application. The Board office can only make you eligible to take the exam if you are registered with NABP.
The Board office can make you eligible to take the exam when you have submitted the following item in addition to the application and fee in DELPROS.
When the Board office makes you eligible, NABP will send you an Authorization to Test letter that will explain how to schedule your examination.
For help on preparing for the MPJE, see MPJE Study Material.
NABP will notify you of the results. If you pass the exam, all of the items listed in the Requirements for All Applications section above will be required before your Pharmacist license is issued.
If you did not pass an exam, you must wait before you can re-take the exam as follows:
To re-take an exam, you must re-register on www.nabp.pharmacy and the Board office must re-confirm your eligibility. For more information about re-taking the exams, see Section 1.2 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.